Joe Bonamassa to release Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks live set

Joe Bonamassa - Christie Goodwin
Photo (C) Christie Goodwin

Joe Bonamassa is to release a live recording, Joe Bonamassa: Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks, on Blu-Ray, DVD and CD.

The concert – a tribute to the music of blues legends Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf – was recorded over Labor Day weekend at the world renowned Red Rocks Amphitheatre in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado.

The film sees Bonamassa playing over 2.5 hours of music to a 9,000 capacity sold-out crowd, the biggest show of the guitarist’s career to date.

Says Bonamassa of the show: “It was the gig of a lifetime for me. What you see on this DVD is what it was like to play in front of the largest audience of my career, playing music that I loved, love, and fell in love with again in a much bigger way than I had before.”

The set features a selection of songs from each artist, followed by a 30-minute set of songs from Bonamassa’s own extensive catalogue. The Blu-Ray and DVD editions will also feature over 1.5 hours of extras including exclusive behind-the-scenes footage, photo gallery, historic footage of Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf, and a featurette of Bonamassa and producer Kevin Shirley’s trip to The Crossroads.

The concert is presented by Keeping the Blues Alive, an organisation founded by Bonamassa that helps to promote the heritage of the blues to the next generation, fund music scholarships, and supplement the loss of music education programs in public schools.

Joe Bonamassa: Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks will be released on the 23rd of March, with a full tracklist as follows:

Joe Bonamassa - Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks cover artMUDDY WATERS SET
Mississippi Heartbeat (Intro)
1. “Tiger In Your Tank”
2. “I Can’t Be Satisfied”
3. “You Shook Me”
4. “Stuff You Gotta Watch”
5. “Double Trouble”
6. “Real Love”
7. “My Home Is On The Delta”
8. “All Aboard”

1. “How Many More Years”
2. “Shake For Me”
3. “Hidden Charms”
i. Band and Introductions
ii. “Spoonful”
iii. “Killing Floor”
iv. “Evil (Is Going On)”
v. “All Night Boogie (All Night Long)”

1. “Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)”
2. “Oh Beautiful!”
3. “Love Ain’t A Love Song”
4. “Sloe Gin”
5. “Ballad of John Henry”
6. “Muddy Wolf Credits”

1. “Joe and Kevin’s Excellent Adventure… to The Crossroads”
2. “Behind the Rocks – An Exclusive View Behind the Scenes”
3. “The Originals – Historic Footage of Muddy Waters & Howlin’ Wolf”
4. “Rockagram Gallery”

You can watch a trailer for the album below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.