Refused stream new track ‘Françafrique’ ahead of new LP

Refused 2015 Promo shot

Swedish hardcore noiseniks Refused have shared another new track from their forthcoming album.

“Françafrique” is lifted from the reunited band’s new LP Freedom, scheduled for release on the 30th of June via Epitaph.

Refused worked on the album with renowned producer Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Kate Bush, Nick Cave) except for the songs “Elektra” and “366”, which saw Shellback, the Swedish pop super-producer who has worked with Taylor Swift, Britney Spears and Pink amongst others, on production and co-writing duties.

“It’s not a reunion anymore,” says Refused frontman Dennis Lyxzén. “This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.”

“Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up,” adds drummer David Sandström. “Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.”

The full track list for Freedom is:

Refused Freedom cover01. “Elektra”
02. “Old Friends / New War”
03. “Dawkins Christ”
04. “Françafrique”
05. “Thought Is Blood”
06. “War On The Palaces”
07. “Destroy The Man”
08. “366”
09. “Servants Of Death”
10. “Useless Europeans”

You can listen to “Françafrique” via the stream below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.