The year of the Supergroup! Metal Allegiance to release debut album in September

Metal Allegiance crop

It must be the year of the supergroup. In early 2014 the first rumblings were heard of the mind-blowing punk-o-metal project Teenage Time Killers, spearheaded by Corrosion Of Conformity’s Reed Mullin, My Ruin’s Mick Murphy and producer/engineer John Lousteau, and featuring a who’s who of punk, rock and metal greats. (Whisper it: we’ve heard the album, Greatest Hits Vol.1, due out on the 31st of July via Rise Records, and it’s f**king awesome.)

Then in summer last year came wind of Project Rogue: Titans, a star-studded crowdfunding campaign set up to create an album that would feature the likes of Lamb Of God’s Chris Adler, founding Fear Factory drummer Raymond Herrera and Napalm Death’s Mitch Harris. Unfortunately the $70,000 funding target must have seemed too high for some, as all has now gone quiet and the project seems to have tanked.

But fear not, for there is now another mighty band of metal inmates thundering over the hill and coming for your kids. That’s right, Metal Allegiance are on their way!

Put together by Mark Menghi, the band features Megadeth’s David Ellefson, Testament’s Alex Skolnick and drummer Mike Portnoy, and in its live incarnation includes lauded rock and metal musicians Phil Anselmo, Kerry King, Dave Lombardo and Steve Vai. And now the group are set to issue their debut album via Nuclear Blast on the 18th of September.

Says Lamb Of God frontman and Metal Allegiance contributer Randy Blythe (who also appears on the Teenage Time Killers album!): “When Lamb Of God asked Alex Skolnick to rip a guest solo on Ashes Of The Wake it was a big deal to us to have one of the legends of our scene play on our records.

“Much to my amazement, years later, he returned the request and it’s an even bigger deal to me to be asked on a peer level to contribute to a project with so many stellar players.”

Down mainman and former Pantera vocalist Phil Anselmo adds: “It’s always my pleasure to jam with such esteemed musicians and brothers, and my contribution to this project is further proof of the fact.”

The album is available to pre-order now via Nuclear Blast’s online store.

The tracklist for Metal Allegiance is:

01. “Gift Of Pain” (ft Randy Blythe, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Gary Holt)
02. “Let Darkness Fall” (ft Troy Sanders, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Mark Menghi, Rex Brown, Randy Blythe)
03. “Can’t Kill The Devil” (ft Chuck Billy, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Phil Demmel, Andreas Kisser
04. “Dying Song” (ft Phil Anselmo, Alex Skolnick, Mark Menghi, Mike Portnoy)
05. “Scars” (ft Mark Osegueda, Cristina Scabbia, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy)
06. “Destination: Nowhere” (ft Matthew K Heafy, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy)
07. “Wait Until Tomorrow” (ft Dug Pinnick, Jamey Jasta, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy)
08. “Triangulum” (ft Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Misha Mansoor, Ben Weinman, Charlie Benante, Phil Demmel, Matthew K. Heafy, Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal)
09. “Pledge Of Allegiance” (ft Mark Osegueda, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Charlie Benante, Gary Holt, Andreas Kisser)
10. “We Rock” (ft Mark Osegueda, Chris Jericho, Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens, Alissa White-Gluz, Chuck Billy, Steve ‘Zetro’ Souza, Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson, Mike Portnoy, Andreas Kisser, Phil Demmel, Gary Holt)

Metal Allegiance

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.