Iron Maiden share first new music in 5 years – listen to ‘Speed Of Light’

Iron Maiden Books of Souls crop

Iron Maiden have shared their first new track in 5 years.

“Speed Of Light” is lifted from the metal legends’ new album, The Book Of Souls, scheduled for release on the 4th of September.

‘Maiden drummer Nicko McBrain said recently of the new LP: “Every time you make a record it’s the best you’ve ever made. This one, without a doubt, is the best record we’ve ever made. Sonically it’s brilliant. The compositions of the songs are fantastic.”

The video for “Speed Of Light” was produced and directed by Llexi Leon with animation and visual effects by The Brewery Production Company.

The clip is an ‘homage’ to four decades of video-gaming juxtaposed alongside Iron Maiden’s incredible visual canon of the past 40 years, centering on their talisman, Eddie, as he travels through space and time.

Check out the video and new track below:

The Book Of Souls is ‘Maiden’s 16th studio album and was recorded in Guillame Tell Studios in Paris with longstanding producer Kevin Shirley. It will also be the band’s first studio double album.

The Book Of Souls track list is as follows:

Iron Maiden Book Of Souls coverDisc 1
01. “If Eternity Should Fail”
02. “Speed Of Light”
03. “The Great Unknown”
04. “The Red And The Black”
05. “When The River Runs Deep”
06. “The Book Of Souls”

Disc 2
01. “Death Or Glory”
02. “Shadows Of The Valley”
03. “Tears Of A Clown”
04. “The Man Of Sorrows”
05. “Empire Of The Clouds”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.