The Melvins confirm new album will be released this summer

The Melvins promo 2016

The Melvins have confirmed that they will release their new album this summer.

Basses Loaded will feature no less than six bass players across its twelve tracks and is scheduled for release on the 3rd of June via Ipecac Recordings.

Melvins mainman Buzz Osborne and drummer Dale Crover are joined by Nirvana’s Krist Novoselic, Redd Kross’ Steve McDonald, Butthole Surfers’ JD Pinkus, Big Business’ Jared Warren and Mr Bungle and Fantomas man Trevor Dunn.

The title of the new album is a nod to The Mevlins’ favourite sport of baseball, and a cover of “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” – heard regularly at baseball games across North America – is included in the track list.

The Melvins head out on a North American tour with Napalm Death later this month, and then come to the UK in June to headline the Temples Festival alongside Carcass and Mayhem.

The cover art and tracklist for Basses Loaded are below (bass players in brackets):

The Melvins - Bases Loaded cover

01. “The Decay of Lying” (Steve McDonald)
02. “Choco Plumbing” (Jared Warren)
03. “Beer Hippie” (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
04. “I Want To Tell You” (Steve McDonald)
05. “Captain Come” Down (JD Pinkus)
06. “Hideous Woman” (Steve McDonald)
07. “Shaving Cream” (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
08. “Planet Distructo” (Trevor Dunn, aka Melvins Lite lineup)
09. “War Pussy” (Steve McDonald)
10. “Maybe I Am Amused” (Krist Novoselic)
11. “Phyllis Dillard” (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
12. “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.