New music releases, 23rd March 2015

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 23rd March 2015!

Vamps - Bloodsuckers cover
Bloodsuckers, Vamps

Brainwashed, While She Sleeps
Short Movie, Laura Marling
Sonic Soul Surfer, Seasick Steve
Muddy Wolf At Red Rocks, Joe Bonamassa
Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, Courtney Barnett
Toto XIV (with bonus DVD), Toto
Disquiet, Therapy?
Frantic, Gun
Mr. Wonderful, Action Bronson
The Diary, The Gentle Storm
For All My Sisters, The Cribs
Blues Pills Live, Blues Pills
Game On, The Amorettes
Blade of the Ronin, Cannibal Ox
Ascendants, Oceano
Savage Requiem, Magic Kingdom
In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross, Sorcerer

All of the above – and many more besides! – are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

80 days to ahhh

Von Hertzen Brothers reveal details of sixth studio album


The Von Hertzen Brothers have announced details of their new studio album.

New Day Rising will be released on the 23rd of March via Spinefarm Records. It’s the sixth studio LP from the Finnish rockers and their first since 2013’s Nine Lives.

Siblings Mikko, Kie & Jonne Von Hertzen recorded the album with regular drummer Mikko Kaakkuriniemi and keyboard player Juha Kuoppalaat at The Farm in Vancouver. Grammy-nominated Canadian producer Garth ‘GGGarth’ Richardson (Biffy Clyro, Rage Against The Machine and more) was in the producer’s chair and the album was mixed by Randy Staub (Metallica, Alice In Chains.)

Says Mikko of the new record: “Working with GGGarth and Randy felt like we finally got to operate with true maestros – the crème de la crème of Canadian know-how. All bullshit aside, the end result is all that matters, and quite frankly, I’ve never been prouder of anything we’ve done. Together we raised the bar to a whole new level, and only time will tell if we’ll ever be able to beat that or raise the bar even more. I mean, we are talking some serious Sergey Bubka heights here!”

Adds producer GGGarth: “It’s been a while since I’ve been so taken aback by a band. VHB did this to me. The brothers’ drive, passion and musicality are like no other. The bar has been raised.”

The full tracklist for New Day Rising is as follows:

image0071. “New Day Rising”
2. “You Don’t Know My Name”
3. “Trouble”
4. “Black Rain”
5. “Hold Me Up”
6. “Love Burns”
7. “Dreams”
8. “Sunday Child”
9. “The Destitute”
10. “Hibernating Heart”

Pre-orders for the album are available now with “New Day Rising”, the lead single and video, available for instant download when pre-ordered via iTunes.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song