Butcher Babies’ Carla Harvey talks “Death & Other Dances” novel

Carla Harvey-001

Carla Harvey, vocalist with Butcher Babies, has been discussing her forthcoming novel saying that it was inspired by her time working at hospices, funeral homes and as a dancer.

Speaking with Detroit Live, she said of the book: “Death And Other Dances is a story about the human condition and how touch connects us all. It’s about loneliness and how in today’s digital age we are more connected, yet disconnected since we don’t actually interact face-to-face.”

“I worked in hospices and funeral homes and I was also a dancer for years. I saw a correlation between customers at the clubs and also my patients.”

“Most of the customers I met at clubs were lonely and didn’t really have anyone at home. In a lot of the hospices, patients I took care of seemed abandoned by their families as well. Working in these environments, I came to the conclusion that everyone wants to be touched, everyone wants to be acknowledged and everyone wants to be loved.”

“We all go to different lengths to find that love in our lives – and that’s what the novel is about. I can’t wait for it to come out.”

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00059]You can order Death & Other Dances from Carla Harvey’s official website.

A range of pre-order packages are available, including autographed and personalised copies of the book, along with limited edition prints of Harvey’s artworks.

It is scheduled for release on the 25th of August and will be available through Amazon and selected bookstores.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Listen! J. Mascis shares two songs from new album ‘Tied To A Star’

J Mascis 2014

J. Mascis is to release a new solo LP next month.

Tied To A Star is scheduled for launch on the 25th of August via SubPop, and ahead of the album release the Dinosaur Jr. frontman has shared two new songs that are set to appear on it.

You can listen to the latest, “Wide Awake” below. The song features guest vocals from Chan Marshall, a.k.a Cat Power:

Mascis shared the first new song, “Every Morning”, back in June. You can hear it below:

The full tracklisting for Tied To A Star is:

01 “Me Again”
02 “Every Morning”
03 “Heal the Star”
04 “Wide Awake”
05 “Stumble”
06 “And Then”
07 “Drifter”
08 “Trailing Off”
09 “Come Down”
11 “Better Plane”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song