Prince will release two new albums in September


Prince has revealed that he is to release not one, but two brand new albums this autumn.

The musician will not only release Plectrumelectrum, his debut album with 3rd Eye Girl next month, but also a separate solo record entitled Art Official Age.

According to the Purple One’s official website, both will be released on the 29th of September.

The official pre-order pages detail the track listing for Plectrumelectrum as follows:

1. “Wow”
2. “Pretzelbodylogic”
3. “Aintturninround”
4. “Plectrumelectrum”
5. “Whitecaps”
6. “Fixurlifeup”
7. “Boytrouble”
8. “Stopthistrain”
9. “Anotherlove”
10. “Tictactoe”
11. “Marz”
12. “Funknroll”

The track listing for the second album, Art Official Age, is as follows:

1. “Art Official Cage”
2. “Clouds”
3. “Breakdown”
4. “The Gold Standard”
5. “U Know”
6. “Breakfast Can Wait”
7. “This Could Be Us”
8. “What It Feels Like”
9. “Affirmation I & II”
10. “Way Back Home”
11. “Funknroll”
12. “Time”
13. “Affirmation III”

The albums see Prince’s return to Warner Bros., the record label he split from acrimoniously in the 1990s after wearing the word “slave” on his face as a protest to his record contract. “When you stop a man from dreaming, he becomes a slave,” he told Rolling Stone in 1996. “That’s where I was. I don’t own Prince’s music. If you don’t own your masters, your master owns you.” Earlier this year, Prince worked out a deal with the label where he now owns the masters to all his recordings with them.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song