New music releases, 28th July 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 28th July 2014!

Harbinger Album Cover
Harbinger, Mutilation Rites

The Breeze: An Appreciation of JJ Cale, Eric Clapton & Friends
Hypnotic Eye, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Savages, Theory Of A Deadman
Haven’t Got The Blues (Yet), Loudon Wainwright III
Blues Pills, Blues Pills
Wayfarer, Nell Bryden
Exile On Twee Street (’80 – ’82), The Bluebells
A Document Of Dissent: 1993 – 2013, Anti-Flag
The Voyager, Jenny Lewis
Angel In Blues Jeans, Train
Rock Konducta, Madlib
Wildest Dreams, Wildest Dreams
The Thing With Two Heads, English Dogs
Forest Of Feelings, David Sancious
Thief OST: 2013 Remaster, Tangerine Dream
Harvest Of Gold, Gossling
Omnipresent, Origin
Violet Dreams, John Gallow
The Order Of The Solar Temple, The Order Of The Solar Temple
No Place, A Lot Like Birds

All of the above and many more are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store, powered by Amazon A-Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

LISTEN! Blues Pills stream debut album in full


Blues Pills are streaming their eponymous debut album in full ahead of its release next Monday.

You can hear all 10 tracks of the band’s epic, psych-tinged, bluesy rock n’ roll below.

Blues Pills’ members hail from the US, Sweden and France. Speaking of their cover of Chubby Checker track “Gypsy” that features on the album, the band said: “We used to play it at soundcheck, then, slowly, it worked its way into our setlist. Back in the day, a lot of bands covered each other for the right reasons. We wanted to honour Chubby and bring the song back to life the Blues Pills way.”

The album’s cover was designed by renowned artist Marijke Koger-Dunham. Said the band: “She painted it some time in the late 60s, and because we were looking for 60s-inspired work, we thought, ‘What could be better?’ For us it’s a representation of the balance of life – darkness and light, sun and moon. It shows how opposite forces are interconnected. And besides that, it looks amazing.”

Blues Pills is released via Nuclear Blast and is available for pre-order via Amazon and iTunes.

The full tracklist for the album is as follows:

Blues Pills Album Cover“Ain’t No Change”
“Black Smoke”
“No Hope Left For Me”
“Devil Man”
“Little Sun”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song