Micah Schnabel shares video for new solo track ‘The Interview’

Micah Schnabel has shared a video for his song “The Interview.”

The track features on Schnabel’s new solo album, Your New Norman Rockwell, out now via Last Chance Records.

Drawn and animated on paper by Charly Fasano with a total budget of $35, the video also forms part of Fasano’s lifelong multimedia project called The Tales of Any Every the Third.

Part beat poem, part Dylan-esque stream-of-consciousness folk song, part cathartic rock n’ roll blast akin to Schnabel’s band Two Cow Garage, “The Interview” plays out like a long-lost recording of a private conversation, found in a dusty shoebox that you never knew – or had long-since forgotten – existed.

Fear, love, success, dreams and the mundane grind of daily living: it’s all here in these three vital minutes. Check out the video for “The Interview” below.

Micah Schnabel’s new album, Your New Norman Rockwell, is out now. You can buy it via Bandcamp or at Last Chance Records.

01. “Your New Norman Rockwell”
02. “Jazz and Cinnamon Toast Crunch”
03. “The Interview”
04. “Cash 4 Gold”
05. “Oh, What a Bummer”
06. “Are There Any Questions”
07. “Hello, My Name is Henry”
08. “American Throwaway”
09. “Cincinnati, Ohio”
10. “These Divided States”
11. “White Envelope”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

Lucero team up with Charly Fasano for short film

Lucero 2015-001

Lucero have teamed up with artist Charly Fasano for a short film and multimedia project.

The Memphis band worked with Fasano on Teddy’s Bowling Alley, a short film featuring Fasano’s work accompanied by music from Lucero. The film was shot entirely on a Google tablet and features “…drawings, linocut block prints, black paint, heavy stock paper, fishing line, duct tape and a cardboard box.”

The film has been released to complement a larger multimedia project, Retrospect/ed.

Produced by Lucero drummer Roy Berry and engineer Chris Scott, Retrospect/ed features Fasano reading the poems “Gasoline Fumes” and “Teddy’s Bowling Alley” accompanied by the music of Lucero. In addition Fasano (a.k.a. “the city mouse”) has created a multimedia experience by constructing twenty-two block print illustrations and two short films that complement the poems.

You can watch Teddy’s Bowling Alley below:

Retrospect/ed includes a hand stamped and numbered 7″ vinyl record (only 500 pressed), a fifty page illustrated book and an original hand-pulled block print that appears in the book. It is available to order now via Fast Geek Press.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song