Dentist announce new album, Night Swimming, and share new single, Corked

Photos: Matthew Lyons

New Jersey indie surf-rock outfit Dentist have announced that their new album, Night Swimming, will be released on the 20th of July via Cleopatra Records.

The band have also shared the first single from the album, titled “Corked.” You can listen to the track below.

“This album was an attempt to capture all the different aspects of ourselves and create something that we would want to listen to,” says guitarist and songwriter Justin Bornemann. “Musically we are attracted to rawness and simplicity, but melodically we lean towards a pop aesthetic. The lyrics tend to be focused on social anxiety, heartache and loss, but sometimes reveal love and optimism,” adds vocalist, bassist and songwriter Emily Bornemann.

Showcasing the bands ability to fit pop hooks into aggressive garage punk one moment, then dreamy surf pop the next, the album is cohesive but represents an exercise in capturing all aspects of Dentist’s personality.

Rounded out by Matt Hockenjos on drums, Night Swimming was produced by Andy Bova and Justin Bornemann, and was mastered by Jürgen Engler (Die Krupps, Nico, Iggy and The Stooges, Queensryche).

Night Swimming tracklist:

01. Upset Words
02. Night Swimming
03. Alone In The Garden
04. OH
05. Tight Spot
06. Remind Me
07. Figure-four
08. All Is Well (In Hell)
09. Corked
10. Owl Doom Pt. 2
11. The Latter

You can pre-order Night Swimming now via Bandcamp.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

Black Sabbath tribute to feature Cancer Bats, Kylesa & more


Cancer Bats, Ulver and Kylesa are set to feature on a Black Sabbath tribute album.

Cleopatra Records are producing the LP as revealed by Kylesa, posting the proposed tracklist online with the message: “It’s finally happening – Kylesa is interpreting Black Sabbath.”

Kylesa will be covering “Paranoid”, with Cancer Bats taking on “Into The Void”.

The full tracklist for the as yet unnamed album is reported as follows:

01. Wo Fat: “The Warning”
02. Stoned Jesus: “The Writ”
03. Death Hawks: “Hand Of Doom”
04. House Of Broken Promises: “Lady Evil”
05. Scorpion Child: “Hole In The Sky”
06. Mos Generator: “Dirty Women”
07. Machuca: “Planet Caravan”
08. Ulver: “Solitude”
09. Cancer Bats: “Into The Void”
10. Witch Mountain: “Sleeping Village”
11. Solace: “Electric Funeral”
12. Pentagram: “Tomorrow’s Dream”
13. Kylesa: “Paranoid”
14. Bloody Hammers: “Changes”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song