Devilskin set to make UK live debut


New Zealand natives Devilskin are set to make their UK debut next week.

The demons from down under will play a showcase set at The Borderline in London on the 15th of April, preceded by a warm up show at Camden’s Black Heart on the 14th.

A genuine phenomena in their homeland, Devilskin’s debut album We Rise hit the No.1 spot upon release, and the accompanying singles have amassed just shy of 1 million Youtube views.

“We can’t tell you how excited we are to be hitting Europe and the UK this April,” say the band. “The timing is perfect, the band is really on fire after our New Zealand summer tour and we are hungry to be able to play to our friends and fans in that part of the world. We will be bringing our A game that’s for sure, we’re not going all that way for tea and scones!”

Tickets for the Borderline show on the 15th are available here.

Check out the video for Devilskin’s crackin’ most recent single, “Little Pills”, below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

80 days to ahhh

Antemasque announce album and tour details


Antemasque, the progressive punk group started by former Mars Volta and At The Drive In members Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala, are set to release their debut LP later this month.

The eponymous album will be released digitally on the 27th of October, with a physical release following on the 24th of November through the band’s own label, Nadie Sound.

Antemasque will play three headline shows in the UK to support the release, with confirmed dates as follows:

13th October: Concorde 2, Brighton
14th October: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
15th October: Electric Ballroom, London

The full tracklist for Antemasque is:

antemasque01. “4AM”
02. “I Got No Remorse”
03. “Ride Like The Devil’s Son”
04. “In The Lurch”
05. “50,000 Kilowatts”
06. “Momento Mori”
07. “Drown All Your Witches”
08. “Providence”
09. “People Forget”
10. “Rome Armed To The Teeth”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Stream UK rock trio The Males debut EP “Her Golden Blood”!


UK rockers The Males are to release their debut EP next Monday, the 21st of July.

Her Golden Blood will be released via Martian Pop Records and features three scorching tracks of vital rock n’ roll.

Speaking about the release, the band describe the songs thus: “‘Cut her off’ is a cautionary tale of love’s wicked barbs. ‘Golden Gates’ details the glorious persuit of making mistakes, and ‘Hot blood’ is a reflection of the armour we wear to seak connection in the night.”

Check out a stream of the EP below:

Her Golden Blood will be available as a digital download, and a limited edition CD hand-signed by the band.

Bandmates Will Goldstone (guitar), Lewis Young (drums and vocals) and Ben Smith (bass) cite inspiration from heroes Shellac, Black Sabbath, Jesus Lizard, Fugazi, Far, The Melvins, Big Business, Boris, The Misfits, Refused, Queens of the Stone Age and, of course, AC/DC.

Webzine Killing Floor recently described the EP as “…the shot of adrenaline you pretty much need to spruce up ya moose and defeat the energy slump occupying your eyeballs at the end of the week. Mix up Dinosaur Pile Up, Death From Above 1979 and Queens Of The Stone Age in your brain-heads and you’ll hear what we’re hearing. Sounds ruddy brilliant don’t it?”

The Males EP CoverHer Golden Blood is released next Monday, the 21st of July, via Martian Pop Records

You can visit the band’s official Facebook page here, and their Twitter feed here

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Michael Jackson’s new single debuts at iHeartRadio Music Awards


Michael Jackson’s new single, “Love Never Felt So Good”, was debuted at the iHeartRadio Music Awards in Los Angeles last night (1st of May.)

After being introduced by CEO of Epic records, LA Reid, Usher appeared onstage to perform with a troupe of dancers alongside the song.

“Love Never Felt So Good” was written by Paul Anika and originally recorded by Jackson in 1983. The song will feature on the singer’s posthumous album XSCAPE, which will be released on the 13th of May and features eight unreleased tracks worked on by producers including Timbaland.

You can watch the performance at the iHeartRadio Music Awards below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Chairlift’s Caroline Polacheck to release solo debut

PolacheckChairlift singer and songwriter Caroline Polacheck is to release a solo album.

Titled Arcadia, the album will be released under the Ramona Lisa moniker on 14th April. According to the official press release it is “a concept album of love songs that are nature allegories” and was recorded at Rome’s Villa Medici.

Polachek contributed the song ‘No Angel’ to Beyonce’s eponymous album, released last year. “I thought it could be a good album track for Chairlift, but it would be incredibly sexy if Beyoncé did it,” said Polachek of the song. “Her groove was different… in my version the synths detuned really quickly for a second; she did the same thing but with her voice. It sounds like the whole song melts. It’s amazing,” she said.

You can watch the video for title track ‘Arcadia’ below.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin Without A Song