Steve Hackett reveals new Wolflight details

Steve Hackett Head Shot

Steve Hackett has shared further details of his new solo album, Wolflight.

The album is scheduled for release in Europe on the 30th of March next year, with Hackett revealing the new details in a short video message.

Says the musician: “My new rock album Wolflight is at the ready and lying in wait. It reflects everybody’s struggle for freedom on a journey travelling through both inner and outer space.

“It explores sounds from as far afield as Greece, Azerbaijan, the deep American South, Sahara desert and beyond – from all our yesterdays, evoking the ancient past.”

Other musicians on the album include Roger King, Gary O’Toole, Nick Beggs, Rob Townsend, Amanda Lehmann, Malik Mansurov and Sara Kovaks. Yes bassist Chris Squire makes an appearance on “Love Song To A Vampire”, while Hugo Dagenhardt plays drums on “Dust And Dreams”.

The full tracklist for Wolflight is as follows:

01. “Out Of The Body”
02. “Wolflight”
03. “Love Song To A Vampire”
04. “The Wheel’s Turning”
05. “Corycian Fire”
06. “Earthshine”
07. “Loving Sea”
08. “Black Thunder”
09. “Dust And Dreams”
10. “Heart Song”

You can watch Steve’s video update below:

Hackett revealed last week that he will play a 19 date tour across the UK next year, taking in material from across his solo career as well as “a sprinkling of Genesis” material.

Confirmed dates are as follows:

Oct 06th: Guildford GLive
Oct 07th: London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Oct 09th: Northampton Derngate
Oct 10th: Cardiff St David’s Hall
Oct 11th: Southampton O2 Guildhall
Oct 13th: Basingstoke Anvil
Oct 14th: York Barbican
Oct 16th: Aberdeen Music Hall
Oct 17th: Gateshead Sage
Oct 18th: Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Oct 20th: Leeds Town Hall
Oct 21st: Llandudno Venue Cymru
Oct 23rd: Liverpool Philharmonic
Oct 24th: Leicester De Montford Hall
Oct 25th: Salford Lowry
Oct 27th: Ipswich Regent Theatre
Oct 28th: Bristol Colston Hall
Oct 30th: Birmingham Symphony Hall
Oct 31st: Southend Cliffs Pavilion

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Gerard Way releases new Hesitant Alien album details


Former My Chemical Romance frontman Gerard Way has revealed further details of his debut solo LP.

Hesitant Alien is due for release via Warner Bros. records on the 30th of September.

Speaking of the imminent release, Way said: “My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoe-gaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.”

“I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon every day life,” he continued. “I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black’s work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms.”

The tracklisting for Hesitant Alien is:

1. “Bureau”
2. “Action Cat”
3. “No Shows”
4. “Casting Shadows”
5. “Millions”
6. “Zero Zero”
7. “Juarez”
8. “Drugstore Perfume”
9. “Get The Gang Together”
10. “How’s It Going To Be”
11. “Maya The Psychic”

Way will be playing sets at this years Reading & Leeds Festival, taking place between 22nd – 24th August. You can watch a teaser trailer for Hesitant Alien below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Scott Walker and Sunn O))) to release collaborative album

Scott Walker and Sunn O

Scott Walker and Sunn O))) have revealed details of a new collaborative recording.

The album is titled Soused, and will be released on the 22nd of September via 4AD.

The 50 minute LP was recorded in London in early 2014 and produced by Walker and Peter Walsh with the assistance of musical director Mark Warman.

The tracklisting for Soused is:

“Herod 2014”

A dedicated website – that you can visit at – has been set up for the project.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Slash to tour UK arenas in November and December

Slash 2014

Slash has announced that he is to play four UK arena dates this coming November and December.

The legendary guitarist will play Manchester Phones4U Arena on the 29th of November, followed by Leeds First Direct Arena the next day. On the 1st of December the tour visits Birmingham LG Arena, before concluding at London Wembley Arena on the 2nd of December. Support for the shows will come in the form of Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators, plus other special guests.

Slash’s bassist, Todd Kerns, revealed earlier this year that work has begun on the former Guns N’ Roses guitarist’s third solo album. He described the new material as “sleazier, tougher and more dangerous. Exactly where I feel most comfortable. We are all very excited to unleash the monster upon you as soon as we can.”

O2 Priority tickets for Slash’s UK shows go on sale tomorrow morning at 9am (28th May.)

Slash will play the following confirmed dates:

28th of Nov: Manchester, Phones 4U Arena
29th of Nov: Leeds, First Direct Arena
1st of Dec: Birmingham, LG Arena
2nd of Dec: London, Wembley Arena

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Pink Floyd announce The Division Bell 20th anniversary box set

Pink Floyd Division Bell Anniversary Set

Pink Floyd are releasing a 20th anniversary edition of The Division Bell.

The box set features six discs, including three replica coloured or clear vinyl discs, 5 collectors’ prints, a Blu-ray disc and for the first time Andy Jackson’s 5.1 audio mix of the album. The set is due for release on the 30th of June.

Originally released in 1994, The Division Bell was the last studio album to be released by the band, who consisted of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright.

Full details of the contents of the set are as follows:

Disc 1 – LP
Original album, remastered for vinyl in 2014 from the original analogue masters. Includes full-length tracks across 2-LP’s for the first time.

Disc 2 – Blu-Ray (all previously unreleased)
2014 Marooned video – directed by Aubrey Powell with stereo and 5.1 audio soundtracks
5.1 audio mix of The Division Bell by Andy Jackson in 96khz/ 24-bit
HD audio stereo mix of The Division Bell by James Guthrie 96khz/ 24-bit

Disc 3
Red vinyl 7” single Take It Back (edit) / Astronomy Domine (live)
Replica 7” red vinyl in picture sleeve

Disc 4
Clear vinyl 7” single High Hopes (edit) / Keep Talking (edit)
Replica 7” clear vinyl in picture sleeve plus poster bag

Disc 5
Blue Vinyl 12” single High Hopes / Keep Talking / One Of These Days (live)
Replica 12” blue vinyl, laser etched design on reverse, picture sleeve. Includes 7 collectible film cards in a wallet

Disc 6 – CD Album
2011 Discovery version of The Division Bell in a new dedicated wallet

The box set will also contain 5, 26cm x 26 cm art prints designed by Hipgnosis/StormStudios.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song