Devin Townsend shares video for “March Of The Poozers”

Devin Townsend Poozers Screen Cap

Devin Townsend has released a lyric video for his track “March Of The Poozers”.

The song is lifted from his Dark Matters album, one of two new LPs which feature in his recently released Z2 package.

Says Townsend of the release: “To be honest, my main motivation to make this album was so I could make those crazy puppet shows. It’s the typical random music that I’ve been interested in for the past few years. This song was directly influenced by the band Samael, whom I have great affection for as people.

“I feel like I’m at the end of a creative cycle. Z2 beat me up in a way I wasn’t expecting, but when all was said and done, I’m very proud of it. Thanks to all of you who continue to support.

“My mind is full of music again, as it always is, but I’m trying to absorb some of the lessons that came with the over scheduling and chaos of this last period, and I look forward to getting my process back on track.”

Townsend will play a series of shows across Europe next year, including four dates in the UK:

Mar 29th: Bristol O2 Academy
Mar 30th: Glasgow O2 ABC
Mar 31st: Manchester Academy
Apr 13th: London Royal Albert Hall

You can watch the video for “March Of The Poozers” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Devin Townsend Project “Rejoice” lyric video

Devin Townsend

Devin Townsend Project have released a lyric video for new track, “Rejoice.”

The song is taken from Townsend’s forthcoming double album Z2.

The LP is scheduled for release on the 27th of October and contains the Project’s Sky Blue set on one disc, and Dark Matter, the sequel to 2007’s Ziltoid The Omniscient, on the second.

Said Townsend in interview with Kerrang: “The album in general is about fighting through the ugly moments, and I think this song kind of summarises it. Z2 was a very challenging record – but after intense personal scrutiny, I feel very proud. It’s the most accurate representation of a challenging time.”

The full tracklist for Z2 is:

Z2 Album CoverSky Blue
01. “Rejoice”
02. “Fallout”
03. “Midnight Sun”
04. “A New Reign”
05. “Universal Flame”
06. “Warrior”
07. “Sky Blue”
08. “Silent Militia”
09. “Rain City”
10. “Forever”
11. “Before We Die”
12. “The Ones Who Love”

Dark Matter
01. “Z2”
02. “From Sleep Awake”
03. “Ziltoidian Empire”
04. “War Princess”
05. “Deathray”
06. “March Of The Poozers”
07. “Wandering Eye”
08. “Earth”
09. “Ziltoid Goes Home”
10. “Through The Wormhole”
11. “Dimension Z”

You can watch the lyric video for “Rejoice” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 2nd June 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 2nd June 2014:

Superunknown 20th Anniversary
Superunknown (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Soundgarden

Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II, Led Zeppelin III (Deluxe Editions), Led Zeppelin
Hank, Hank Marvin
La Petite Mort, James
More Modern Classics, Paul Weller
New Eyes, Clean Bandit
The Moral of The Elephant, Martin and Eliza Carthy
Vauxhall and I (20th Anniversary Definitive Master), Morrissey
Sunbathing Animals, Parquet Courts
Breakfast, Teleman
Puttin’ On The Ritz, Frank Zappa
Dressed In Autumn, Mostly Autumn
Common Ground, Dave Alvin
Donker Mag, Die Antwoord
The Blues Came Callin’, Walter Trout
Lion, Peter Murphy
Disgraceland, The Orwells
Cut Your Teeth, Kyla La Grange
The Ways of Yore, Burzum
Constellations, Moulettes
Days of Abandon, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
Heartstrings, Howling Bells
The Ceaseless Sight, Rich Robinson
Copper Gone, Sage Francis
Only Run, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Casualties of Cool, Devin Townsend
Partly Fiction, Harry Dean Stanton
AKEDA, Matisyahu
Last One To Die, Matty James

All of the above and more are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store!

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song