New music releases, 28th April 2014

Here are this week’s new and notable album releases for week commencing 28th April, 2014:

Brody Dalle - Diploid Love
Diploid Love, Brody Dalle

Phosphorescent Harvest, Chris Robinson Brotherhood
Everyday Robots, Damon Albarn
Tribal, Imelda May
Indie Cindy, Pixies
Embrace, Embrace
9 Dead Alive, Rodrigo Y Gabriela
Live In Poland – 35th Anniversary Tour, Toto
Colfax, The Delines
A Thousand Thoughts, Kronos Quartet
The Beauty Of Destruction, The Devil You Know
No Deal, Melanie De Biasio
Get Back, Pink Mountaintops

You can buy all of the above albums – and many more! – via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | Interviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 17th February 2014

New and notable releases this week, 17th February 2014:

Weird Kids, We Are The In Crowd
Refugees EP, Embrace
The Whippoorwill, Blackberry Smoke
Peroxide, Nina Nesbitt
Schubert: Winterreise, Jonas Kaufmann
Burn Your Fire For No Witness, Angel Olsen
Lucky, Suzy Bogguss
Kindly Bent to Free Us, Cynic
Hard Working Americans, Hard Working Americans
Motivational Jumpsuit, Guided By Voices
Baader Meinhof, Baader Meinhof
Node 2, Node
Out Of The Cellar (Collector’s Edition), Ratt
Ocean Colour Scene (Deluxe Edition), Ocean Colour Scene
All Love’s Legal, Planningtorock
Bluebird, Dawn Landes
Carnivore Sublime, Benighted
Out Of The Silent Planet (Collector’s Edition), King’s X
Undress, Jesca Hoop
Days Of The Fallen Sun (EP), Junius

All of the above and many more are available via the The Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Cult Of Clio | The Playlist Under The Skin | Without A Song

Embrace announce new song, EP and album

EmbraceBritish band Embrace have announced details of a new song, EP and forthcoming album.

The band posted the video for new song ‘Refugees’ on YouTube yesterday, and shared details of an EP of the same name, which will be released on 17th February. An eponymously titled new album will be released on 28th April.

In an interview with NME, frontman Danny McNamara revealed that the band had been out of the spotlight for so long because they didn’t want to release any new music unless it was “better than our debut album.”

“That was the rule we set, and I think we’ve done that. If I was going to explain Embrace to a person that had never heard us, I’d play them ‘All You Good, Good People’, from our first album, ‘Ashes’ from Out Of Nothing and this new album from start to finish,” he said.

Discussing the eight year period since their last album, McNamara said: “…I became so disillusioned with the whole thing… Eventually the writing bug came back, as I think it does with all creative people who lose their motivation. Rich got it first, he was working in a studio, and wrote some stuff that sounded like nothing we’d ever done before, and then I started writing again and it all spiralled from there. We’ve been writing since then and I’ve been telling people the album would be finished ‘in a month or so’ for the last five years. We didn’t think it would take so long, but were in no rush.”