New music releases, 7th August 2015

This week’s new and notable music releases in one handy list!

Faded Gloryville, Lindia Ortega

Down To You EP, Young States
Genexus, Fear Factory
Destrier, Agent Fresco
Live In Tokyo 1975, Miles Davis
Full Metal Whore, Lord Of The Lost
Automatic, Don Broco
Abyss, Chelsea Wolfe
The Anthropocene Extinction, Cattle Decapitation
Deathless, Miss May I
Electric Blood, Biters
The Antichrist Imperium, The Antichrist Imperium
Positive Songs For Negative People, Frank Turner
The Last Stand?, Gimp Fist
Evil Power, Deathhammer
Downfall Rising, Wombbath

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Lindi Ortega to release new album ‘Faded Gloryville’ in August

Lindi Ortega

Canadian country music songstress Lindi Ortega is set to release her new album.

Faded Gloryville will land this August via Last Gang Records imprint Grand Tour Records. Numerous pre-order bundles are available now via Ortega’s online store.

Speaking recently to Rolling Stone, Ortega said of the new record: “It’s about how much faith you need to put into whatever you’re doing, and how hard it is to keep that faith.

“Everyone starts off in this business with huge dreams,” she continues. “Years later, after being signed to a major label, then getting dropped, then getting signed to an indie label, I realized that the dreams I had at the beginning were a bit naive. Metaphorically, Faded Gloryville is a state of mind where you’ve gone from being so excited about something to so tired, and you realize it’s not quite what you thought it was gonna be. You realize just how much you have to sacrifice to make those dreams work, and you need to reassess what you’re doing. Do you stop there, or do you move on?”

Ortega recorded Faded Gloryville in different sessions with three producers. Dave Cobb recorded three songs at the Sound Emporium in Nashville, whilst Colin Linden worked on four. Three songs were also recorded in Muscle Shoals including a cover of the Bee Gees hit “To Love Somebody.”

“Faded Gloryville isn’t just about music,” concludes Ortega. “It’s about anything that brings you down, whether it’s dreams not coming true or relationships not working out, and its message is this: you can go to place where you’re feeling really down about things, but it’s what you do afterwards — do you decide to reside there forever, or do you leave and make the situation better — that matters. You have to travel through Faded Gloryville to get to Paradise.”

The full tracklist for Faded Gloryville is:

Lindi-Ortega-Faded-Gloryville01. “Ashes”
02. “Faded Gloryville”
03. “Tell It Like It Is”
04. “Someday Soon”
05. “To Love Somebody”
06. “When You Ain’t Home”
07. “Run-down Neighborhood”
08. “I Ain’t The Girl”
09. “Run Amuck”
10. “Half Moon”

You can watch the lyric video for album track “Tell It Like It Is” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song