New music releases, 29th June 2015

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week:

Refused Freedom cover
Freedom, Refused

Brother Sinner & The Whale, Kelly Joe Phelps
In Vaults, District 97
The Monsanto Years, Neil Young
Still, Richard Thompson
The Other Side Of Desire, Rickie Lee Jones
Venus, Joy Williams
Truancy: The Best Of Pete Townshend, Pete Townshend
The Sovereign Self, Trembling Bells
Holy War, Thy Art Is Murder
Inji, LA Priest
Delta Deep, Delta Deep
Everything Is Fine, Pixies
Order Shall Prevail, Jungle Rot
Eidos, Kingcrow
Sky Blue, Devin Townsend Project
Polaris/Elysium/Nemesis Collector’s Box Set, Stratovarius
Vivarium, Twin Atlantic
Disgusting, Beartooth
Transparency, Straight Line Stitch
Act 1/Colours In The Dark/Left In The Dark Collector’s Box Set, Tarja
Can’t Slow Down/Acoustique/Classics Collector’s Box Set, Foreigner

All of the above are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

District 97 reveal details of new album ‘In Vaults’

District 97 2015

Chicago prog-rockers District 97 are gearing up for the release of their new album.

In Vaults, the band’s third full length studio LP, will be released on the 23rd of June via Laser’s Edge.

The album was recorded at IV Lab Studios in Chicago, engineered by Chris Harden with additional engineering by Shane Hendrickson, mixed by Rich Mouser and Jeff Fox at The Mouse House Studio and mastered by Bob Katz at Digital Domain.

The track list for In Vaults, along with cover art by Björn Gooßes are below:

D97-InVaults-cover1. “Snow Country”
2. “Death By A Thousand Cuts”
3. “Handlebars”
4. “A Lottery”
5. “All’s Well That Ends Well”
6. “Takeover”
7. “On Paper”
8. “Learn From Danny”
9. “Blinding Vision”

District 97 was formed in 2006 by drummer Jonathan Schang, keyboardist Rob Clearfield, bassist Patrick Mulcahy and guitarist Sam Krahn, the latter eventually replaced by Jim Tashjian on guitar. In 2007 American Idol finalist Leslie Hunt joined the group as vocalist.

In Vaults follows District 97’s 2010 debut Hybrid Child, and 2012 follow up Trouble With Machines. The band also released a joint live album with prog legend John Wetton (King Crimson/ASIA) in 2014 titled District 97 with John Wetton: One More Red Night – Live In Chicago.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song