New Music Releases, 30th March 2015

Here are the new and notable releases for this week, 30th March 2015:

Quireboys St Cecilia etc
St Cecilia & The Gypsy Soul, The Quireboys

The Day Is My Enemy, The Prodigy
Endless Forms Most Beautiful, Nightwish
Asunder Sweet & Other Distress, Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Wolflight, Steve Hackett
Tokyo Dome Live, Van Halen
Kintsugi, Death Cab For Cutie
Day Of The Dead, Hollywood Undead
We Are Harlot, We Are Harlot
New Day Rising, Von Hertzen Brothers
New York Before The War, Jesse Malin
Fantasy Empire, Lightning Bolt
On Lonely Towers, Barren Earth
Ungod, Morgoth
Generation Steel, Majesty
The Valiant Fire, Damnation Angels
Frogstomp (20th Anniversary Edition), Silverchair

All of the above – and many more – are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

80 days to ahhh

Watch Von Hertzen Brothers’ video for “New Day Rising”

Von Hertzen Brothers - New Day Rising - Vid cap

Von Hertzen Brothers have shared the video for the title track of their forthcoming new album, New Day Rising.

The follow up to the band’s 2013 album Nine Lives, New Day Rising is the Von Hertzen’s sixth studio album and is scheduled for release on the 23rd of March via Spinefarm.

The video was directed by the band’s guitarist Kie von Hertzen.

Says frontman Mikko von Hertzen: “Whenever we plan a video for a song, Kie is the first person we turn to. This is the sixth video he himself has done for the band. This time he had the idea of making a simple band video. He visited countless locations before choosing a beautiful spot on an island, just outside mainland Helsinki. The island itself used to be a fortress in the many wars we as a nation have suffered.

“The song ‘New Day Rising’ is about leaving a place for good in search for happiness and a more fulfilling life. The boats floating by are actually going to different countries; Sweden and Estonia. They are also places where many Finnish people go to let out some steam and party. In essence, the boats you see on the video give the illusion of a better life. In fact these boats never stop going back and forth. As we humans often do.”

Check out the video for “New Day Rising” below and be sure to let us know what you think of the track!

The Von Hertzens are playing three headline dates in the UK in April to support the release. Updated details are:

23rd Apr: London, The Dome
24th Apr: Nottingham, The Rescue Rooms
25th Apr: Wolverhampton, Slade Rooms

Tickets are available now via Ents24.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Von Hertzen Brothers reveal details of sixth studio album


The Von Hertzen Brothers have announced details of their new studio album.

New Day Rising will be released on the 23rd of March via Spinefarm Records. It’s the sixth studio LP from the Finnish rockers and their first since 2013’s Nine Lives.

Siblings Mikko, Kie & Jonne Von Hertzen recorded the album with regular drummer Mikko Kaakkuriniemi and keyboard player Juha Kuoppalaat at The Farm in Vancouver. Grammy-nominated Canadian producer Garth ‘GGGarth’ Richardson (Biffy Clyro, Rage Against The Machine and more) was in the producer’s chair and the album was mixed by Randy Staub (Metallica, Alice In Chains.)

Says Mikko of the new record: “Working with GGGarth and Randy felt like we finally got to operate with true maestros – the crème de la crème of Canadian know-how. All bullshit aside, the end result is all that matters, and quite frankly, I’ve never been prouder of anything we’ve done. Together we raised the bar to a whole new level, and only time will tell if we’ll ever be able to beat that or raise the bar even more. I mean, we are talking some serious Sergey Bubka heights here!”

Adds producer GGGarth: “It’s been a while since I’ve been so taken aback by a band. VHB did this to me. The brothers’ drive, passion and musicality are like no other. The bar has been raised.”

The full tracklist for New Day Rising is as follows:

image0071. “New Day Rising”
2. “You Don’t Know My Name”
3. “Trouble”
4. “Black Rain”
5. “Hold Me Up”
6. “Love Burns”
7. “Dreams”
8. “Sunday Child”
9. “The Destitute”
10. “Hibernating Heart”

Pre-orders for the album are available now with “New Day Rising”, the lead single and video, available for instant download when pre-ordered via iTunes.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song