John Bassett to release new 4-track EP in April

John Bassett

Kingbathmat and Arcade Messiah mainman John Bassett has announced that he will release a new 4-track EP early next month.

Titled Aperture, the new collection is due out on the 3rd of April, with Bassett saying that he wanted to release something that was different to his other output.

“I took a small break from recording the latest Arcade Messiah project to put together something completely different,” he says, ” – a mellow, small collection of post rock, ambient style songs.

“The whole process was completed in a spontaneous manner over 12 days.”

Aperture will be available via Bassett’s bandcamp page, with the musician releasing a teaser trailer that you can hear below.

The Aperture EP tracklist is:

John Bassett - Aperture cover01. “Break The Wall”
02. “Joy In Despair”
03. “Awaiting”
04. “Jenna”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Chasing Dragons announce EP launch show, UK festival appearances and tour

Chasing Dragons Promo 2 2016

Yorkshire alt-metal cohort Chasing Dragons have announced details of a launch show for their new EP, UK festival appearances and a series of tour dates.

First up for the band is a hometown show in Leeds where they will celebrate the release of new EP, Faction:Prologue, at the Beckett Students Union on the 8th of April, with gigs in Coventry and Bradford to follow.

From there, Chasing Dragons will be taking to the stage at some of the UK’s best loved smaller alternative festivals. Breaking Bands, Upload, Wildfire and the new Muses Of Metal festival are just a selection of the events on their schedule, with more show and festival appearances set to be announced in the coming weeks and months.

Details of the live shows follow hot on the heels of the announcement of Chasing Dragons’ new EP, Faction:Prologue, scheduled for released on the 29th of March and available for pre-order now.

Chasing Dragons’ confirmed live shows are as follows:

08th Apr: Leeds Beckett Students Union, Leeds – EP Launch Show
15th Apr: The Albany Pub, Coventry
30th Apr: Trapdoor, Bradford
07th May: Muses Of Metal Fest, Keele
14th May: Upload Festival, Wakefield
20th May: Milo Bar, Leeds – supporting Courage My Love
28th May: Breaking Bands Fest, Bromsgrove
24th Jun: Wildfire Fest, Scotland
09th Jul: Lincoln Imp, Scunthorpe
27th Aug: Chebfest, Leeds
28th Aug: Rockwich Festival, Northwich

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Gillian Nicola shares new song ‘Oh Marie’ ahead of new EP

Gillian Nicola 2016

Hamilton, ON-based alt-country singer-songwriter Gillian Nicola has released a track from her forthcoming new EP.

“Oh Marie” is lifted from Nicola’s sophomore collection, No Place to Call, due for release on the 15th of April. The collection was recorded with producer Dan Hosh at Hamilton’s Catherine North Studios, then mastered by Elliott Brood’s Stephen Pitkin.

Says Gillian Nicola of the song: “‘Oh Marie’ draws directly on the idea that we often find it hard to call anyone or any place home. I’ve presented the story of a character who seemingly has everything she needs in life, but still has a sense of emptiness.

“Marie abandons it all for a new life,” she adds, “something that so many have dreamed of, but few have the courage to pull off. ‘Oh Marie’ is just as much about questioning how she could go through with her actions as it is about envying them. While at times it may be ‘pretty’, ‘No Place to Call’ is anything but that: it is charged with emotion, grit and vulnerability.”

You can take a listen to Gillian Nicola’s “Oh Marie” now via SoundCloud and watch the teaser trailer for No Place To Call below.

Connect with Gillian Nicola at:

Gillian Nicola No Place To Call EP

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Chasing Dragons announce new EP and share behind-the-scenes studio teaser

Chasing Dragons promo 2016

Leeds natives Chasing Dragons have announced that they are to release a new EP.

Faction:Prologue is scheduled for release on the 29th of March and is described thus by the Yorkshire outfit: “…a whirlwind of riffwork and a rhythm section you could set your watch to. Underpinning it all are the vocals of singer Tank, who leads from the front with true punk attitude and a will to succeed.”

Sounds good to us!

As the name might suggest, the EP is intended as a precursor to a longer album in the future, and to whet your appetite the ‘Dragons have released a behind-the-scenes studio teaser that you can check out below:

Having shared the stage with bands ranging from Skindred and Fearless Vampire Killers to Death Angel and Betraying The Martyrs, Faction:Prologue is the start of what will be a huge year in the lives of Chasing Dragons, and you can pre-order the new EP here.

Chasing Dragons Faction Prologue

Faction:Prologue tracklist:
01. “Devil In Her Eyes”
02. “The Mutiny”
03. “Whitehorse”

Connect with Chasing Dragons at:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

A Dream, A Coast releases debut EP and shares official video for ‘Last To Know’

Aimee Bessada A Dream A Coast

Aimee Bessada, a.k.a. A Dream, A Coast, has released her self-titled debut EP.

Bessada came to the attention of songwriting guru Linda Perry as part of VH1 show The Linda Perry Project, and the new EP contains six songs all written and produced by Bessada with Perry in a co-producing role.

Bouncing in between the genres of folk pop, grunge and beach-wave, the music of A Dream, A Coast encapsulates the many musical influences that have shaped Bessada’s style. In a statement accompanying the EP’s release Aimee sites Fleetwood Mac, Elliot Smith and Weezer as key influences.

Aimee herself has toured the world with many bands and artists, including playing lead guitar for Hunter Valentine, Dance Yourself to Death and Toronto art-rock darlings, Vag Halen. She has also opened for Sia, CSS and Cyndi Lauper.

Coinciding with the release of the EP is the official video for lead track “Last To Know”, directed by The Young Astronauts. Check it out below.

The track list for A Dream, A Coast is:

A Dream A Coast01. “Last To Know”
02. “Just Like Love”
03. “Culebra”
04. “Empty Beaches”
05. “Tell A Lie”
06. “Got It Wrong”

The EP is available now via iTunes.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song