Pentagram set to return with brand new LP ‘Curious Volume’

Pentagram crop
Photo: Keith Hyde

Legendary U.S. heavy doom-mongers Pentagram are set to return with a new album.

Curious Volume will be released on the 28th of August via Peaceville Records and features 11 new compositions from core band members Victor Griffin, Greg Turley and Bobby Liebling, with Pete Campbell on drums. The album was recorded with Swedish producer Mattias Nilsson in Maryland and Virginia with additional recording in Tennessee with producer Travis Wyrick.

Pentagram recently released a double DVD collection titled All Your Sins, featuring over 7 hours of live footage spanning a period of three decades. The band has enjoyed a recent surge in popularity due in part to the 2011 documentary, Last Days Here, which follows the trials and tribulations of a troubled rock star, Pentagram’s lead singer Bobby Liebling. With a DVD release set for this fall on Peaceville’s label, the film has garnered international recognition and has won several awards, including “Best Music Documentary” at the International Documentary Film Festival in Amsterdam.

The full track list for Curious Volume is:

Pentagram - Curious Volume cover01. “Lay Down And Die”
02. “The Tempter Push”
03. “Dead Bury Dead”
04. “Earth Flight”
05. “Walk Alone”
06. “Curious Volume”
07. “Misunderstood”
08. “Close The Casket”
09. “Sufferin`”
10. “Devil`s Playground”
11. “Because I Made It”

Connect with Pentagram at:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Pentagram confirmed for Sonic Blast Moledo festival 2015


US doom and psych-metal legends Pentagram have been confirmed as the first headliner for this year’s Sonic Blast Moledo festival.

Taking place between the 14th and 15th of August in Moledo Do Minho on the north coast of Portugal, the heavy metal and psych festival offers what organisers are calling “the perfect summer break for all heavy/psych music lovers.”

“Sun, Sea, Beach, Surf, Pool, Skate and Heavy riffs: that’s the SONIC BLAST MOLEDO motto!” they add.

Other bands set to appear across the weekender’s two stages include Church Of Misery, Kadavar, The Bellrays, Blues Pills, The Atomic Bitchwax, Mars Red Sky and Samsara Blues Experiment. More headline acts are set to be announced in the near future.

Tickets and further info are available via the Sonic Blast Moledo website.

The news of Pentagram’s festival appearance comes just ahead of the release of the band’s new DVD, All Your Sins, which features over six hours of concert footage spanning the band’s 30 plus year career.

Performances include an incendiary show at the legendary CBGB club in New York, captured in 1985. The 2 disc set is due to be released on the 23rd of February via Peaceville.

Pentagram All Your Sins DVD coverDISC 1
01. “Death Row Live at the Silver Fox – 1983”
02. “CBGBs – 1985”
03. “The Seagull Inn – 1985”
04. “The Hung Jury Pub – 1987”
05. “930 Club – 1993”

01. “The Paragon – 1993”
02. “The End – 2010”
03. “John Dee, Oslo – 2012”
04. “The DNA Lounge – 2014”

You can watch the official trailer for All Your Sins below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song