Purson open pre-orders for new album ‘Desire’s Magic Theatre’ and embark upon UK tour

Purson promo 2016

Purson have opened pre-orders for their new LP and embarked upon a UK tour.

Desire’s Magic Theatre is due for release on the 29th of April via Spinefarm Records.

Singer, guitarist and song-writer Rosalie Cunningham says that the new collection of songs touches on a variety of realms, including folk, prog, psychedelic, gothic and classic rock, making telling use of classical instruments and complex arrangements, and fully exploring the outer limits of reel to reel tape.

Desire’s Magic Theatre has turned out to be everything I’d imagined and more,” she says. “My world has been so consumed by it that I’ve barely been able to reflect on what it has become: a technicolour variety show, a playful display of the musical whims only briefly hinted at in our previous work; a psychedelic rock opera dedicated to our good friends Sarge Pepper and Zig Stardust.”

Desire’s Magic Theater is available to pre-order now.

Purson Desire's Magic Theatre cover01. “Desires Magic Theatre”
02. “Electric Landlady”
03. “Dead Dodo Down”
04. “Pedigree Chums”
05. “The Sky Parade”
06. “The Window Cleaner”
07. “The Way It Is”
08. “Mr. Howard”
09. “I Know”
10. “The Bitter Suite”
11. “Unsure Overture”*
12. “I Know (Acoustic)”*
13. “The Sky Parade (Acoustic)”*
*Deluxe Edition bonus tracks

Purson have embarked upon a UK tour and are due to play the following dates:

Mar 11th: Norwich, Waterfront
Mar 12th: Milton Keynes, Craufurd Arms
Mar 16th: London, 100 Club
Mar 24th: Exeter, The Cavern Club
Mar 25th: Plymouth, The Junction
Mar 26th: Southampton, Joiners
Mar 27th: Brighton, The Hope & Ruin
Mar 30th: Birmingham, The Sunflower Lounge
Mar 31st: Manchester, Night & Day
Apr 01st: Glasgow, Audio
Apr 02nd: Leeds, The Brudenell
Apr 15th: Southend, Chinerys

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Watch! Electro artist Lights reveals new song and video


Canadian electro artist Lights has revealed a new song, “Portal.”

You can watch the starkly beautiful accompanying video below:

The track is taken from Lights’ debut album, Little Machines, due for release on the 23rd of September, and you can pre-order it here.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Butcher Babies’ Carla Harvey talks “Death & Other Dances” novel

Carla Harvey-001

Carla Harvey, vocalist with Butcher Babies, has been discussing her forthcoming novel saying that it was inspired by her time working at hospices, funeral homes and as a dancer.

Speaking with Detroit Live, she said of the book: “Death And Other Dances is a story about the human condition and how touch connects us all. It’s about loneliness and how in today’s digital age we are more connected, yet disconnected since we don’t actually interact face-to-face.”

“I worked in hospices and funeral homes and I was also a dancer for years. I saw a correlation between customers at the clubs and also my patients.”

“Most of the customers I met at clubs were lonely and didn’t really have anyone at home. In a lot of the hospices, patients I took care of seemed abandoned by their families as well. Working in these environments, I came to the conclusion that everyone wants to be touched, everyone wants to be acknowledged and everyone wants to be loved.”

“We all go to different lengths to find that love in our lives – and that’s what the novel is about. I can’t wait for it to come out.”

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00059]You can order Death & Other Dances from Carla Harvey’s official website.

A range of pre-order packages are available, including autographed and personalised copies of the book, along with limited edition prints of Harvey’s artworks.

It is scheduled for release on the 25th of August and will be available through Amazon and selected bookstores.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Black Moth reveal “Condemned To Hope” cover art by Roger Dean

Black Moth Band Shot

Leeds based doom rock band Black Moth have revealed the cover art for their new album, Condemned To Hope. You can see the artwork below.

The cover was created by prog-rock artwork icon Roger Dean who, speaking in interview with TeamRock, said of the commission: “I like to work with new bands that are at an early stage in their career. This is Black Moth’s second album. But as I had not heard it at the time, it was probably more important that I got on with their record company, and singer Harriet Bevan.”

“In over 40 years it has been extremely rare for me to have heard the music before starting – it’s just the way of the world. So talking about ideas is what does it,” he added.

Black Moth’s record label, New Heavy Sounds, noted in a statement that they were thrilled by the collaboration: “Here Roger goes over to the dark side, moving away from the more fantastical vistas that feature in much of his paintings. For Condemned To Hope he creates something truly bleak and epic.”

Condemned To Hope is released via New Heavy Sounds on the 15th of September. It will be available in CD and digital formats, and in a gatefold vinyl edition limited to 500 copies. It’s available for digital pre-order now.

The album was produced by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds/Grinderman drummer Jim Sclavunos, who also helmed the band’s 2013 debut, The Killing Jar.

The full tracklist for Condemned To Hope is as follows:

Black Moth - Condemned to Hope - 640x640“Tumbleweave”
“Set Yourself Alight”
“The Undead King Of Rock ‘n’ Roll”
“The Last Maze”
“White Lies”
“Red Ink”
“Room 13”
“Slumber With The Worm”
“Condemned To Hope”

You can watch the official video for new album track “Room 13” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Watch! Winter In Eden release video for new song “With Intent”

Winter In Eden

UK based symphonic metal band Winter In Eden have released a video for new song “With Intent.”

The track is taken from their forthcoming third full-length album, Court Of Conscience.

You can watch the video below:

Court Of Conscience is due for release on the 11th of August via FireStreak Media. The album was produced by Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation) and mixed by Stefan Helleblad (Within Temptation), with guest appearances from Damian Wilson (Threshold) and Jermain van der Bogt (For All We Know, Ayreon).

The full tracklisting for Court Of Conscience is as follows:

Court_Of_Conscience1. Knife Edge
2. With Intent
3. Critical Mass Part 1 – Burdened
4. Toxicate
5. Order Of Your Faith
6. It’s Not Enough
7. Before It Began
8. The Script
9. Constant Tomorrows
10. Behind Closed Doors
11. Affliction

A range of pre-order packages are available via Winter In Eden’s official store, here.

The band will be embarking upon a UK tour from August in support of the release, playing:

9th of Aug: Esquires, Bedford
10th of Aug: Cambridge Rock Festival
5th of Sept: Town Hall, Bishop Auckland
6th of Sept: The Wesley Centre, Rotherham
19th of Sept: Sanctuary Rock Bar, Burnley
20th of Sept: Zephyr Bar, Leamington Spa
21st of Sept: The Duchess, York
31st of Oct: The Resolution, Whitby Goth Weekend

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song