Firefly Burning entice Talk Talk man in to the studio

FireflyBurning Band Shot

Tim Friese-Green, perhaps most famous for his collaborations with Talk Talk, is to produce the new album by Firefly Burning.

It will mark the first time in 13 years that Friese-Green has produced an album. Firefly Burning’s new album, Skeleton Hill, is slated for release on the 9th of March via Fathom Records.

Says Friese-Green of the rare foray in to the producer’s chair: “I caught Firefly Burning quite by chance when they were supporting North Sea Radio Orchestra in a church behind Denmark Street, and it was the first time in 13 years that I had felt sufficiently captivated by a band to want to go into the studio with them.

“They were such an unidentifiable mash-up of so many things, and yet I found it instantly made sense to me. It was in a language I instinctively understood.

“There was clearly some sophisticated musical thinking going on, but it never felt overly clever or technical – on the contrary, it seemed to be perfectly in tune with the natural order of things, and completely unforced.”

Meanwhile Firefly Burning have made new track “We Are A Bomb” available to stream. The track is set to appear on Skeleton Hill. You can listen to it via the link below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Robert ‘Mutt’ Lange to produce new album from Muse

Muse 2014

UK space rockers Muse have confirmed that they are working with producer Robert ‘Mutt’ Lange on their new album.

The band made the announcement via their Instagram account, posting a picture of Lange with AC/DC. Lange famously produced AC/DC’s classic album, Back In Black. The caption with the photo read: “We are honoured to be making our new album with this legendary producer. #backinblack”

Lange has also filled the producer’s chair for albums with his ex-wife Shania Twain, The Boomtown Rats, Foreigner and Sheffield rock stalwarts Def Leppard.

Muse are working on their seventh studio album, tentatively scheduled for release during 2015.

Speaking about the new album, Muse man Matt Bellamy said: “I have this strong feeling that the next album should be something that really does strip away the additional things that we’ve experimented with on the last two albums, which is electronics, symphonics and orchestral work and all that kind of stuff.”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Agonist praise producer Chris Donaldson

The Agonist 2014 Promo

The Agonist have been speaking in praise of their producer Chris Donaldson.

In a new studio update, the band’s drummer Simon McKay says: “The good thing about working with Chris is that he’s really calm. If you hit a bump and it’s not working, he’ll just let you work it out. There’s not much you can do other than hammer out the kinks at that point – he’ll tell you if it’s not good.”

Says guitarist Danny Marino: “We see eye to eye on some things and we don’t see eye to eye on other things when it comes to recording production,” he says. “It’s good because sometimes you need someone to tell you ‘no’ and that you should maybe consider other ideas. The end result is a really good balance of his way of doing things and ours.”

Donaldson was in the production seat for The Agonist’s first three albums, and has returned for this album, Eye Of Providence, the band’s first with new vocalist Vicky Psarakis. Previous vocalist Alissa White-Gluz left The Agonist early this year to join Arch Enemy.

You can watch the latest studio update in full below:

The Agonist are currently on tour, and will play:

11th of Aug: The Face Bar, Reading, UK
12th of Aug: The Robin, Bilston, UK
14th of Aug: Metal Frenzy Festival, Germany
15th of Aug: Summer Breeze Festival, Germany
16th of Aug: Rockstadt Extreme Festival, Romania
30th of Aug: Beaverfest, Canada
6th of Oct: Umeda Club Quattro, Osaka, Japan
7th of Oct: Nagoya Club Quattro, Nagoya, Japan
9th of Oct: Shibuya Club Quattro, Tokyo, Japan
18th of Oct: Circo Volador, Mexico

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Listen! Weezer stream new song, ‘Back To The Shack’

Weezer Band Shot 2014

Weezer have revealed another new song from their forthcoming album, Everything Will Be Alright In The End.

“Back To The Shack” feels to us like a return to an earlier Weezer sound. Check out the song below and let us know what you think:

Everything Will Be Alright In The End is due for release on the 30th of September via Republic Records, and was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars fame. It is available for pre-order here.

The band are embarking on a North American tour this week, and will be stopping by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon for a performance this Wednesday, the 23rd of July.

Weezer will play:

24 – London, Ontario @ Rock The Park 2014
25 – Belleville, Ontario @ Empire Rockfest
26 – Rimouski, Quebec @ Les Grandes Fetes du St-Laurent

1 – Las Vegas, Calif. @ The Cosmopolitan
2 – Del Mar, Calif. @ Del Mar Thoroughbred Club Summer Concert Series
9 – Bethlehem, Pa. @ Musikfest PNC Plaza
13 – Southaven, Miss. @ Snowden Grove Amphitheater
14 – Lake Charles, La. @ L’Auberge Casino Resort
31 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Made In America

6 – Charlotte, N.C. @ 106.5 The End presents Weenie Roast ‘14
12 – Paso Robles, Calif. @ Vino Robles Amphitheatre
13 – Sacramento, Calif. @ Aftershock Festival
14 – Chicago, Ill. @ Riot Fest
19 – Denver, Colo. @ Riot Fest

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Watch! Winter In Eden release video for new song “With Intent”

Winter In Eden

UK based symphonic metal band Winter In Eden have released a video for new song “With Intent.”

The track is taken from their forthcoming third full-length album, Court Of Conscience.

You can watch the video below:

Court Of Conscience is due for release on the 11th of August via FireStreak Media. The album was produced by Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation) and mixed by Stefan Helleblad (Within Temptation), with guest appearances from Damian Wilson (Threshold) and Jermain van der Bogt (For All We Know, Ayreon).

The full tracklisting for Court Of Conscience is as follows:

Court_Of_Conscience1. Knife Edge
2. With Intent
3. Critical Mass Part 1 – Burdened
4. Toxicate
5. Order Of Your Faith
6. It’s Not Enough
7. Before It Began
8. The Script
9. Constant Tomorrows
10. Behind Closed Doors
11. Affliction

A range of pre-order packages are available via Winter In Eden’s official store, here.

The band will be embarking upon a UK tour from August in support of the release, playing:

9th of Aug: Esquires, Bedford
10th of Aug: Cambridge Rock Festival
5th of Sept: Town Hall, Bishop Auckland
6th of Sept: The Wesley Centre, Rotherham
19th of Sept: Sanctuary Rock Bar, Burnley
20th of Sept: Zephyr Bar, Leamington Spa
21st of Sept: The Duchess, York
31st of Oct: The Resolution, Whitby Goth Weekend

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song