My Ruin re-release ‘Throat Full Of Heart’ LP – for FREE!

Throat Full Of Heart Crop
WARNING: This news story contains graphic images

LA metal band My Ruin have re-released their Throat Full Of Heart album – for free!

The 2008 album was originally released via the band’s own imprint, Rovena Recordings, and distributed in the UK by Cargo.

As frontwoman Tairrie B. Murphy explained:”Although this album was critically acclaimed, unfortunately the distribution we had hoped to achieve through Cargo was disappointing to say the least and it was very difficult for fans to find in stores at the time of its release. When it did finally come out in the US, it was only available as an import and even harder to find. It was also ridiculously expensive and not available worldwide as promised by Cargo.”

“Being that we now own the rights, we want EVERYONE to have a chance to finally hear this album which we remain very proud of and which has gone under the radar to some extent,” she added.

The decision to re-release the album also comes on the 8th anniversary of a fateful event that dramatically altered the course of the recording and the music that would eventually appear on Throat Full Of Heart. The night before recording sessions were due to begin, Tairrie had a night off following pre-production in order to go to dinner with friends:

“After dinner, one of my friends offered to drive me home. I had no idea she was intoxicated because she seemed fine,” said the vocalist via My Ruin’s Facebook page. “Within just minutes of getting into her car and driving down Santa Monica Blvd, we crashed.”

“She swerved and hit a street sweeper which was parked and a huge metal rod ripped through the passenger side open window and came straight for my neck which I somehow managed block with my left forearm… The rod tore open my arm from the elbow to the wrist underneath and punctured a wide deep hole in the top.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Following extensive surgery – before which Murphy had been warned she may lose her arm owing to the extent of the injuries she had suffered – Tairrie began the long road to recovery. The band had recorded the music for the new album at their frontwoman’s request, and miraculously only Tairrie’s own vocal sessions were delayed.

“I laid the vocals for this album while still heavily bandaged and full of pain killers before my final skin graft surgery,” says Murphy now. “During this time, I decided to re write the lyrics for one of the last tracks of the album while in the studio. This became “Through the Wound” that also happened to contain the words which inspired the album title and my personal anthem of strength and recovery which still brings back some heavy memories when I listen to it today.”

You can grab your own copy of Throat Full Of Heart via My Ruin’s Bandcamp page, where the band have also made available a very limited set of just 12 physical signed copies of the album that also contains the 2hr behind the scenes bonus DVD.

Watch the official video for Throat Full Of Heart’s lead track, “Ready For Blood”, below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Avenged Sevenfold to re-release Waking The Fallen


Avenged Sevenfold have confirmed that they are to re-release their seminal 2003 album, Waking The Fallen.

Waking The Fallen: Resurrected is scheduled for release on the 26th of August – exactly 11 years after the original album.

The …Resurrected edition will be released through Hopeless Records and will feature the original album, 11 previously unreleased tracks, a 30 minute feature film, music videos and more.

Check out the trailer below to see what you’re in for:

The full tracklisting for Waking The Fallen: Resurrected is as follows:

CD 1:
1. Waking The Fallen
2. Unholy Confessions
3. Chapter Four
4. Remenissions
5. Desecrate Through Reverence
6. Eternal Rest
7. Second Heartbeat
8. Radiant Eclipse
9. I Won’t See You Tonight Part 1
10. I Won’t See You Tonight Part 2
11. Clairvoyant Disease
12. And All Things Will End

CD 2:
1. Waking The Fallen: Resurrected
2. Second Heartbeat (Alternate Version)
3. Chapter Four (Demo)
4. Remenissions (Demo)
5. I Won’t See You Tonight Part 1 (Demo)
6. I Won’t See You Tonight Part 2 (Demo)
7. Intro/Chapter Four (Live In Ventura)
8 Desecrate Through Reverence (Live In Pomona)
9. Eternal Rest (Live In Pomona)
10. Unholy Confessions (Live In Ventura)
11. Second Heartbeat (Live In Ventura)
12. I Won’t See You Tonight Pt. 1 (Live In Ventura)*
13. I Won’t See You Tonight Pt. 2 (Live In Ventura)*
*Denotes bonus tracks only available via pre-orders

1. Waking The Fallen: Resurrected Documentary
2. Chapter Four (Live Footage Video)
3. Unholy Confessions (Official Music Video)
4. Unholy Confessions (Original First Cut Music Video)

To pre-order the album, including the exclusive pre-order only tracks detailed above, click through to Hopeless Records.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Kiss confirm details of 40th anniversary box set


Kiss have confirmed the release of a 40th anniversary vinyl box set.

The band will also embark on a co-headlining tour of the US this summer with UK rockers Def Leppard. The two bands will hit the road on the 23rd of June and will play a series of live dates running through until the 31st of August. The tour is partnering with US military support foundations and will offer discounted tickets to US service personnel.

Meanwhile, Kissteria: The Ultimate Vinyl Road Box will be released in a limited edition of 1,000 copies. The vinyl set comes packaged in a limited edition tour case and contains 34 albums along with posters, dominoes, photos, a cleaning cloth and turntable mat and a certificate of authenticity.

A set of vinyl re-issues of individual albums will start in March and will come to an end in June. A double CD, Kiss 40, will also be released.

The full inventory of Kissteria: The Ultimate Vinyl Road Box is as follows:

Vinyl: KISS, Hotter Than Hell, Dressed To Kill, Alive!, Destroyer, Rock And Roll Over, Love Gun, Alive II, Ace Frehley, Gene Simmons, Peter Criss, Paul Stanley, Dynasty, Unmasked, Music From The Elder, Creatures Of The Night, Lick It Up, Animalize, Asylum, Crazy Nights, Hot In The Shade, Revenge, Alive III, MTV Unplugged, Carnival Of Souls: The Final Sessions, Psycho Circus, Alive: The Millennium Collection, Monster

Exclusive vinyl: Double Platinum, Greatest KISS, Killers, You Wanted The Best You Got The Best, Smashes, Thrashes & Hits, Kiss Symphony: Alive IV

Collectables: 11 posters, vinyl cleaning cloth, turntable mat, dominoes, photos, certificate of authenticity with exclusive box number.

The release schedule of individual vinyl re-issues is as follows:

March 31: Alive!, Animalize, Destroyer, Dressed To Kill, Dynasty, Hotter Than Hell, KISS, Lick It Up, Revenge, Unmasked

May 5: Asylum, Creatures Of The Night, Love Gun, MTV Unplugged, Psycho Circus

May 26: Rock And Roll Over, Alive III, Music From The Elder, Crazy Nights, Hot In The Shade, Alive: The Millennium Concert, Carnival Of Souls: The Final Sessions

June 23: Alive II, Ace Frehley, Gene Simmons, Peter Cris, Paul Stanley

You can find out more about Kissteria here.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song