Extreme to issue 2CD deluxe edition of Pornograffitti

Extreme Pornograffitti 25th Anniversary-001

Extreme have released details of a deluxe reissue of their classic album Extreme II: Pornograffitti (A Funked Up Fairytale).

Originally released in 1990, the new 2CD deluxe set will feature the original albums plus a selection of remixes, B-sides, edits and acapellas. Across the two discs there will be no less than four versions of the band’s hit single “More Than Words.”

Extreme are currently on tour celebrating the 25th anniversary of Pornograffitti. Guitarist Nuno Bettencourt said recently that the band are hoping to release a new album during 2015.

The full tracklist for the deluxe edition of Pornograffitti is:

Disc 1

01. Decadence Dance
02. Li’l Jack Horny
03. When I’m President
04. Get The Funk Out
05. More Than Words
06. Money (In God We Trust)
07. It (‘s A Monster)
08. Pornograffitti
09. When I First Kissed You
10. Suzi (Wants Her All Day What?)
11. He-Man Woman Hater
12. Song For Love
13. Hole Hearted

Disc 2

01. More Than Words (Remix)
02. Nice Place To Visit (B-side)
03. More Than Words (Radio Edit)
04. Decadence Dance (Edit)
05. Money (In God We Trust) (Edit)
06. More Than Words (Acapella)
07. Get The Funk Out (What The Funk? Mix)
08. More Than Words (A Cappella With Congas)
09. Get The Funk Out (12 “Remix)
10. Sex N ‘Love (B-side)

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Soundgarden to re-issue debut LP ‘Ultramega OK’

Soundgarden 2014

Seattle legends Soundgarden are to reissue their debut album in a remixed edition.

Speaking to Pulse Of Radio, guitarist Kim Thayil has revealed that the band have worked with producer Jack Endino to remix Ultramega OK and are looking for a record label to put it out.

“Last year, Jack Endino and I spent a number of weeks remixing Ultramega OK and we’re gonna search for a label — it’s no longer on SST — and put it out with a beautiful, heavier, warmer mix from Jack, which is something we always felt we had to correct about that release.”

The band released a deluxe 20th anniversary edition of their 1994 classic album Superunknown earlier this year.

Soundgarden will also release rarities collection, Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path, on the 24th of November.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Pixies to release 25th anniversary edition of “Doolittle”


Pixies have revealed details of a 25th anniversary reissue of their legendary 1989 album Doolittle.

The band, who released their latest LP, Indie Cindy, in April have confirmed that CD and vinyl versions of the new package will be available in various different bundles.

Both the 3CD and 2LP version will come with a string of previously unreleased tracks and include all related B-sides, demos and the band’s John Peel Sessions. Almost half of the 50 tracks in the CD package are being made available for the first time.

The cover art for the new versions sees original artist Vaughan Oliver return to reinterpret his original design, and pre-orders of all the packages are available now.

The Doolittle 25 CD tracklist is:

Doolittle 25Disc 1 – Doolittle
Wave of Mutilation
I Bleed
Here Comes Your Man
Monkey Gone to Heaven
Mr Grieves
Crackity Jones
La La Love You
No. 13 Baby
There Goes My Gun
Gouge Away

Disc 2 – B-Sides & Peel Sessions 1988/89
There Goes My Gun
Manta Ray
Into The White
Wave of Mutilation
Down To The Well
Manta Ray (B-side)
Weird At My School (B-side)
Dancing The Manta Ray (B-side)
Wave of Mutilation UK Surf (B0side)
Into The White (B-side)
Bailey’s Walk (B-side)

Disc 3 – Demos
Wave of Mutilation (First Demo)
I Bleed
Here Comes Your Man (1986 Demo)
Monkey Gone To Heaven
Mr Grieves
Crackity Jones
La La Love You
No. 13 Baby – Viva La Loma Rica (First Demo)
There Goes My Gun
Hey (First Demo)
Gouge Away
My Manta Ray Is All Right
Weird At My School (First Demo)
Wave Of Mutilation
No. 13 Baby
Debaser (First Demo)
Gouge Away (First Demo)

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Listen! Smashing Pumpkins share unreleased ‘Adore’ track ahead of LP reissue


As previously reported at Skin Back Alley, The Smashing Pumpkins are to reissue their 1998 album Adore on the 23rd September in a new deluxe edition.

The reissue is set to feature numerous unreleased tracks, b-sides and demos, and Smashies mastermind Billy Corgan has now shared one of those previously unreleased songs, “Let Me Give the World to You.”

Produced by Rick Rubin, the song was recorded for Adore but left off the final album. It later appeared in a different version on Smashing Pumpkins’ 2000 album, Machina II/The Friends & Enemies of Modern Music.

You can listen to the previously unreleased version of the song below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Pantera’s ‘Cowboys from Hell’ 20th Anniversary

Warner Music are planning a 20th anniversary reissue of Pantera’s seminal 1990 album Cowboys From Hell. The remastered original album will be released on 22nd November with a second disc of live material. Three disc ‘deluxe’ and ‘ultimate’ packages will also be available, including rare and unreleased tracks.

The anniversary edition of the band’s major label debut comes six years after the murder of guitarist ‘Dimebag’ Darrell, who was shot dead on stage by a deranged fan in December 2004.

The album’s full tracklisting will be as follows:

Disc One
01 Cowboys From Hell
02 Primal Concrete Sledge
03 Psycho Holiday
04 Heresy
05 Cemetery Gates
06 Domination
07 Shattered
08 Clash With Reality
09 Medicine Man
10 Message In Blood
11 The Sleep
12 The Art Of Shredding

Disc Two
01 Domination (Live)
02 Psycho Holiday (Live)
03 The Art Of Shredding (Live)
04 Cowboys From Hell (Live)
05 Cemetery Gates (Live)
06 Primal Concrete Sledge (Live)
07 Heresy (Live)
08 Domination (Live)
09 Primal Concrete Sledge (Live)
10 Cowboys From Hell (Live)
11 Heresy (Live)
12 Psycho Holiday (Live)

Disc Three (Ultimate and Deluxe Editions Only)
01 The Will To Survive
02 Shattered (Demo)
03 Cowboys From Hell (Demo)
04 Heresy (Demo)
05 Cemetery Gates (Demo)
06 Psycho Holiday (Demo)
07 Medicine Man (Demo)
08 Message In Blood (Demo)
09 Domination (Demo)
10 The Sleep (Demo)
11 The Art Of Shredding (Demo)