Richie Kotzen reveals video for new song The Enemy

Richie Kotzen 2015

Guitarist, singer and songwriter Richie Kotzen has released a video for his song “The Enemy.”

The track is the third single to be lifted from Kotzen’s 20th studio album Cannibals, released earlier this year.

“My director buddy Vicente Cordero found this abandoned drive-in, which was the perfect location for the video,” Kotzen tells Ultimate Classic Rock. “The song is basically a song about loss and cause of loss, which in this case is one’s own actions. What ties the song and location together is that we are showing my childhood videos on the screen, which makes the entire piece that much more personal.”

Continues the musician: “I probably shouldn’t reveal this, but half the song has a drum and guitar performance from several years ago, and the rest of the song is comprised of new recorded performances. Crazy concept, but somehow it worked and I ended up with a recording that I’m very happy with.”

You can watch the video for “The Enemy” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

80 days to ahhh

Winery Dogs to start recording new album in the spring

Winery Dogs

The Winery Dogs mainman Richie Kotzen has said that the band will head in to the studio in May to start recording their new album.

Speaking to Kotzen revealed that he, bassist Billy Sheehan and drummer Mike Portnoy have been working on new material that he says is both “crazy” and “cool”.

“We actually started writing music a couple of weeks ago at my house and got a bunch of ideas,” says the singer and guitarist. “I think it’s going to be a cool record. We’ve got a couple of songs that we did at the piano, some acoustic things, crazy stuff and it’s going to be a fun record.

“We’ll probably start recording it in May and, realistically, it will be out at the end of summer.”

Last month drummer Mike Portnoy said that the band were eyeing up a world tour to coincide with the new release.

You can watch Vintage Rock’s interview with Richie Kotzen below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 1st September 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for week commencing 1st September, 2014:

Old Ghosts/New Wars, Sanctorum

Creation, The Pierces
Step Back, Johnny Winter
The Days War, Lonely The Brave
Everything Changes, Peggy Seeger
Blood, Pulled Apart By Horses
Primitive and Deadly, Earth
Otta, Solstafir
(r)Evolution, Hammerfall
Clearing The Path To Ascend, Yob
Wicked Nature, The Vines
The Essential Richie Kotzen, Richie Kotzen
Still Life Moving Fast, Empress AD
City Of Gold, Stryker
Venereal Dawn, Dark Fortress
Notes From The Shadows, Astral Doors
Ephemera, Aeon Zen
Bloodbath Over Bloodstock, Bloodbath
Kings Among Men, Crimson Shadows
The Great Depression, Witch Charmer
Up In Hell, Incite
Shit City, Lonely Kamel

Sanctorum’s superb new album is available via the Sanctorum Merch Store, iTunes and available to stream via Spotify.

All the other albums – and many more besides! – are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Richie Kotzen to release retrospective compilation

Essential Richie Kotzen Crop 640x360

Richie Kotzen is to release a best of compilation in the autumn.

The Essential Richie Kotzen will be released on the 1st of September and will feature 2 CDs and 1 DVD of material from across his extensive back catalogue. Two new songs, “War Paint” and “Walk With Me”, will also be included.

“I’ve really changed and grown as an artist and as a person,” says Kotzen, who curated the retrospective himself. “I hand-selected songs so newcomers can get into my music and learn who I am as a recording artist.”

Kotzen released his first solo album at the age of 19 in 1989, and has had stints in hard rock bands Poison, and Mr.Big. More recently he has been writing, touring and recording with Mike Portnoy and Billy Sheehan in band The Winery Dogs.

His 20th full length solo album is due for release in 2015. “When you perform, record or write, you go to a different place,” he concludes. “It’s another world. I love hearing people react to the music and lyrics. That’s the ultimate reward.”

The full trakclisting for The Essential Richie Kotzen is as follows:


01. War Paint
02. Walk With Me
03. Love Is Blind
04. Go Faster
05. Fooled Again
06. OMG (What’s Your Name?)
07. Help Me
08. Bad Situation
09. Lie To Me
10. Fear
11. You Can’t Save Me
12. Doing What The Devil Says To Do
13. Remember (reprise)


01. What Is (2014)
02. High (2014)
03. Change (2014)
04. Special (2014)
05. Paint It On (acoustic version)
06. Holding On (acoustic version)
07. Until You Suffer Some (Fire And Ice) (acoustic version)
08. The Road (acoustic version)
09. Regret (original demo version)
10. Damaged (original demo version)


01. Walk With Me (2014)
02. Paying Dues (2009)
03. 24 Hours (2011)
04. Larger Than Life (2009)
05. Losing My Mind (2005)
06. Help Me (2012)
07. Chase It (2008)
08. Player (2011)
09. The Shadow (2011)
10. My Angel (2011)
11. I Would (2008)

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song