New Michael Jackson album, Xscape, set for May release

Michael Jackson - XscapeDetails of a new Michael Jackson album featuring eight previously unreleased songs have been released.

Xscape will be released on the 13th May via Epic records and is the personal project of Executive Producer, LA Reid. Reid was granted unlimited access to 40 years worth of Jackson’s vocal recordings by the Jackson estate.

Producers who are credited with ‘contemporising’ Jackson’s work include Timbaland, Rodney Jerkins, Stargate, Jerome “Jroc” Harmon, and John McClain. The Deluxe Edition of the album will also include the vocal performances in their original form.

John Branca and John McClain, co-executors of the Estate of Michael Jackson commented: “Michael was always on the cutting edge and was constantly reaching out to new producers, looking for new sounds. He was always relevant and current. These tracks, in many ways, capture that spirit. We thank LA Reid for his vision.”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Posthumous Michael Jackson album set for release

Rolling Stone is reporting that a new album from Michael Jackson is to be released later this year.

Details suggest that the as yet untitled LP will feature 10 previously unreleased tracks dating from his peak of popularity in the 1980s, all the way through to recording sessions held as late as 2006.

Frank DiLeo, Jackson’s manager, claims that the singer left hard drives full of unreleased recordings after his death in June 2009. More than 100 completed and unreleased songs, including collaborations with Akon and Ne-Yo, may yet see the light of day following a 10 album deal signed with Sony BMG by the Jackson estate.

“There are a couple of songs we recorded for the Bad album that we had to cut that are just sensational,” DiLeo said.

Rodney Jerkins, who co-produced Jackson’s 2001 album Invincible, revealed that he was working on the new collection. It is tentatively slated for release in November.