Saxon to start work on new album

Saxon Band Crop 640x360

Saxon are gearing up to record their 21st studio album from next week.

Speaking to Rockposer’s Roulette, mainman Biff Byford said: “I did this Scintilla Project with some friends. That came out last week. So I’ve been pretty busy and the band have been having a bit of a break.”

“We’re starting again after the last festival – we’ll start kicking in and finish the songs.”

Speaking about the input of his bandmates, Byford says that they have had as much input in to the songs as they want: “They don’t really write lyrics and come up with melodies. But usually we have separate ideas and we put them forward. Some have more than others – that’s how it goes.”

“But we don’t really have arguing. Usually I’m producing with somebody, or on my own, so I’ll get the choice of what goes on the album.”

Saxon’s last studio album, Sacrifice, was released in March of 2013, and followed up with Unplugged and Strung Up, a collection of their classic material reworked in acoustic and orchestral arrangements.

The group are set to embark upon a UK tour in November, with a list of confirmed dates as follows:

Nov 30th: Bristol Academy
Dec 01st: Bournemouth Academy
Dec 02nd: Leeds Academy
Dec 04th: Manchester Ritz
Dec 05th: Dublin Academy
Dec 06th: Belfast Limelight
Dec 07th: Glasgow O2 ABC
Dec 09th: Newcastle Academy
Dec 10th: Nottingham Rock City
Dec 11th: Wolverhampton Wulfrun Hall
Dec 12th: Oxford Academy
Dec 13th: London Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 17th March 2014

New and notable releases in music this week, 17th March 2014:

The War On Drugs Lost In The Dream
Lost In The Dream, The War On Drugs

Going To Hell, The Pretty Reckless
Symphonica, George Michael
Kiss Me Once, Kylie Minogue
Louder, Lea Michele
St.George’s Day (Live in Manchester), Saxon
Recess, Skrillex
Happiness Is, Taking Back Sunday
All Night Long (Live 1981), Joe Walsh
Night Time My Time, Sky Ferreira
Recoiled, Coil and Nine Inch Nails
The Nocturne Diaries, Eliza Gilkyson
We Got A Love, Shit Robot
Night Tripper: Gris Gris (Remastered), Dr.John
The Complete Studio Albums (Box Set), UFO
Come and Get It, Christina Skjolberg
10000 Towns, Eli Young Band

All the above – and many more – are available via the Skin Back Alley music store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song