Soundgarden set for studio return

MJS STAGE01 Soundgarden.jpg

Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayill has said that the band will start work on their new album this year.

Speaking in an interview with the Sydney Morning Herald, the axeman indicated that the album would likely be released in 2016, but that little detail had yet been agreed:

“No studio has been chosen and no songs are written yet. We’ll spend a month or more working on it – it’s definitely going to happen.”

“We worked with producer Adam Kasper on our last album and I wouldn’t be surprised if we hook up with him again,” he adds.

Soundagarden’s last album was 2012’s Animal Kingdom and was the band’s first new studio release following a 13 year hiatus.

Discussing their commercial success in the 1990’s and expectations for their music today Thayill concludes: “We don’t write radio hits, you can’t dance to our songs and that’s why we are Soundgarden.”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Soundgarden reach out to fans for band memorabilia

Soundgarden 2014

Soundgarden have reached out to fans to request any memorabilia that they might have to be used in an upcoming documentary about the band.

Produced by Banger Films, the documentary will tell the Soundgarden story from their early days, through their reunion and right up to the present.

A post on Soundgarden’s Facebook page reads: “It’s happening – the Soundgarden story will soon be the subject of a feature documentary film. And you can help. As we dig deep into our vaults, we ask that you, the fans, dig into yours.

“Personal photographs, bootleg video and audio, collected concert posters – your rare piece of music history could be the missing piece we need.”

The documentary is being directed by Canadian filmmaker Reg Harkema who says that filming began during Soundgarden’s recent co-headline tour with Nine Inch Nails. He hopes that fans will be able to provide some rare or unique content that he will be able to use in the documentary.

If you think that you have something that may be of interest to the production team, you’re requested to e-mail with the subject ‘Soundgarden Fan Submission.’

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 24th November 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 24th November 2014:

Soundgarden Echoes Of Miles Cover
Echo Of Miles: Scattered Track Across The Path, Soundgarden

The Vinyl Box Set, Bring Me The Horizon
The Velvet Underground (Super Deluxe Edition), The Velvet Undergroud
The Third Three Years, Frank Turner
Warchild (30th Anniversary Theatre Edition), Jethro Tull
Going Back Home (Deluxe Edition), Wilko Johnson & Roger Daltrey
Albion, Ten
Where Greater Men Have Fallen, Primordial
Carrion Skies, Fen
SoCal Sessions, P.O.D.
Running Wild, Girlschool
Astralion, Astralion
Stormborn, Bloodbound
Waking The Dead, NFD
Peste, Hierophant
Hyena, Cripper
Produces Reason, Sleep Of Monsters
The Bowls Of Wrath, Postmortem
Full Of Hell & Merzbow, Full Of Hell
Deep Drone Master, The Deathtrip
Redeeming Filth, Centinex
Colony (Special Edition), In Flames
Tyrant, Aversions Crown
Black Forest Metal, Hanzel Und Gretyl
Eldritch, Saille
All That Might Have Been, Peter Hammill
Where The Tree Stands Dead, The Duskfall
Untrodden Corridors Of Hades, Varathron
Ready To Strike (Collector’s Edition), King Kobra
The Lunatic Chapters of Heavenly Creatures, Dark Mirror Ov Tragedy

All of the above and many more are available to buy via the Skin Back Alley Music Store, powered by Amazon A-Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Soundgarden to re-issue debut LP ‘Ultramega OK’

Soundgarden 2014

Seattle legends Soundgarden are to reissue their debut album in a remixed edition.

Speaking to Pulse Of Radio, guitarist Kim Thayil has revealed that the band have worked with producer Jack Endino to remix Ultramega OK and are looking for a record label to put it out.

“Last year, Jack Endino and I spent a number of weeks remixing Ultramega OK and we’re gonna search for a label — it’s no longer on SST — and put it out with a beautiful, heavier, warmer mix from Jack, which is something we always felt we had to correct about that release.”

The band released a deluxe 20th anniversary edition of their 1994 classic album Superunknown earlier this year.

Soundgarden will also release rarities collection, Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path, on the 24th of November.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Listen! Soundgarden reveal new track and rarities collection

Soundgarden Box Set Crop 640x360

Soundgarden will release a 3-CD set of rare songs next month, the band have revealed.

Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path will drop on the 24th of November and features seven unreleased tracks along with a new song “Storm”. You can listen to the new track below.

Also set for inclusion are B-sides, instrumentals, covers and demos, all of which have been curated by Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil.

Says Thayil of the project: “As album sets go, this one has been fun to collect and compile over the decades. I personally may have referenced this project a number of times over the years, going back almost 20 of them to the mid-Nineties.”

The package was designed by Josh Graham, and each disc will feature its own unique artwork and booklet.

Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path is available to pre-order from Soundgarden’s official site.

The full tracklisting for the collection is as follows:

Disc 1 – Originals
01. “Sub Pop Rock City”
02. “Toy Box”
03. “Heretic”
04. “Fresh Deadly Roses”
05. “HIV Baby”
06. “Cold Bitch”
07. “Show Me”
08. “She’s A Politician”
09. “Birth Ritual”
10. “She Likes Surprises”
11. “Kyle Petty, Son Of Richard”
12. “Exit Stonehenge”
13. “Blind Dogs”
14. “Bleed Together”
15. “Black Rain”
16. “Live To Rise”
17. “Kristi”
18. “Storm”

Disc 2 – Covers
01. “Swallow My Pride”
02. “Smokestack Lightnin’”
03. “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”
04. “Thank You”
05. “Come Together”
06. “Stray Cat Blues”
07. “Into The Void”
08. “Girl U Want”
09. “Touch Me”
10. “Can You See Me?”
11. “Homicidal Suicidal”
12. “I Can’t Give You Anything”
13. “I Don’t Care About You”
14. “Waiting For The Sun”
15. “Search And Destroy”
16. “Big Bottom”
17. “Earache My Eye”

Disc 3 – Oddities
01. “Twin Tower”
02. “Jerry Garcia’s Finger”
03. “Ghostmotorfinger”
04. “Night Surf”
05. “A Splice Of Space Jam”
06. “The Telephantasm”
07. “Black Days III”
08. “Karaoke”
09. “Fopp (Fucked Up Heavy Dub Mix)”
10. “Big Dumb Sex (Dub Version)”
11. “Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)”
12. “Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino’s Back Remix)”
13. “Dusty (Moby Remix)”
14. “The Telephantasm (Steve Fisk 2014 Remix)”
15. “One Minute Of Silence”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song