Winterfylleth announce details of brand new studio album ‘The Dark Hereafter’

Winterfylleth 2016

UK black metal titans Winterfylleth have shared details of their new album.

The Dark Hereafter is the follow up to 2014’s The Divination of Antiquity and will be released via Spinefarm/Candlelight records on the 30th of September.

The album is said to see “…the band progressing their ideas and moving into uncharted territories; exploring longer, more expansive songs and building on their signature sound with style & intent. Thematically ‘The Dark Hereafter’ casts a light on how we are now seeing the negative, long term effects of bad policy making and global oligarchy playing out in our societies, how we have learnt all of these lessons before and yet ignore the wisdom of the ages.”

Winterfylleth have once again worked with Chris Fielding at Skyhammer Studio and Tim Turan and Turan Audio to make the record a reality.

Says guitarist Chris Naughton: “After two years away we are really pleased to share this new record with you all. We thought a lot about making it, what it has to say lyrically, what that means and how we progress along with that as a band approaching our 10th year of existence. In recent years it feels like we have been living in an uncertain and unsettling world, and on ‘The Dark Hereafter’ we wanted to bring the issues surrounding that uncertainty to life, within these new songs. They carry a lot of meaning and sentiment for us and we hope they will also have that meaning for you too. We look forward to seeing you all along the way in 2016/17!”

Winterfylleth The Dark Hereafter cover

Connect with Winterfylleth at:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

Electric Wizard announce new studio album for 2016

Electric Wizard May 2016

Electric Wizard have revealed that they are working on a new studio album.

The whereabouts of the wild and free cult leaders – and the recording/mixing details – are not currently known, but the new collection is expected in time for Halloween and more news is sure to follow in due course.

The album will be the follow-up to 2014’s Time to Die and will be the second release on the band’s Witchfinder Records imprint, the result of a worldwide deal with Spinefarm.

Electric Wizard are set to play the following live dates througout the year

12th Jul: Download, Castle Donington, UK
28th Jul: Metal Days, Tolmin, Slovenia
13th Aug: Brutal Assault, Czech Republic
26th Aug: Psycho Las Vegas, Las Vegas, US
01st Oct: Z7, Basel, Switzerland

Electric Wizard recently headlined Desertfest in both Berlin and London, finishing off the festivals (and the attendees’ ear drums) with the sort of performances that have seen them hailed as the true gate-keepers of UK metal’s great & glorious traditions.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

Zakk Wylde confirms release date for ‘Book Of Shadows II’

Zakk Wylde - Books of Shadows II promo - 2016

Zakk Wylde has confirmed the release date of his new solo album.

Book Of Shadows II is scheduled to drop on the 8th of April via Spinefarm and will be the guitar legend and Black Label Society mainman’s first solo LP for 20 years.

Wylde has been working on the new material since wrapping up his “Unblackened” spring tour with Black Label Society, recording and producing all tracks at his home studio, The Black Vatican. The new album will be followed by a wave of supporting tour dates to be announced soon.

Wylde is no stranger to showing the lighter, introspective side of his music, having previously released two Black Label Society albums of stripped down material. The Song Remains Not the Same was released in 2011 and included acoustic versions of songs originally released on Order of the Black, and 2013’s Unblackened featured live acoustic tracks recorded at Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

The new album is the follow up to Wylde’s 1996 highly regarded solo LP, Book Of Shadows.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Iggy Pop and guitarist Hotei team up for new single

Iggy Pop and Hotei

Iggy Pop and renowned Japanese guitarist Tomoyasu Hotei have teamed up for a new single “How The Cookie Crumbles.”

A high-energy, foot-stomping rock song showcasing Hotei’s flair with six strings, it will be released via Spinefarm Records on June 15th, just prior to Iggy’s two Wembley Stadium shows as Special Guest to the Foo Fighters.

Hotei says of the track: “In creating this song, I knew that it needed a vocalist with a strong personality to fully bring it to life, and without a doubt, Iggy was just the man for this. He has such an intensity and an aura about him, and his creative power immediately made this the true rock ‘n’ roll piece I intended.”

Of course Iggy Pop is familiar to millions, and whilst Hotei may not be as immediately recognisable, his song “Battle Without Honor Or Humanity” is known the world over as the theme from Quentin Tarantino’s film Kill Bill. He was also awarded GQ Japan’s Man Of The Year accolade in 2014 and has sold over 40 million albums.

Check out “How The Cookie Crumbles” below and be sure to let us know what you think:

Hotei’s new album, the first international release of his career, is set to be released in the autumn, also through Spinefarm; the material will feature a variety of collaborators, with writing and production credits including Youth (Pink Floyd, Verve), Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno) and Stephen Lipson (Jeff Beck).

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song