Dream Theater stream new track ‘The Gift Of Music’


Dream Theater are streaming a track from their new album.

“The Gift Of Music” is one of 34 songs set to appear on The Astonishing, due for release on the 29th of January. The album features a full orchestra, several different choirs and a range of uncommon and unusual instruments.

Guitarist John Petrucci recently told Rolling Stone of the album: “I wanted this not only to be a concept album, but a full show. We needed the storyline, a plot, places, characters, maps — you name it.

“I’m a huge fan of the sci-fi and fantasy genres, so I had a pretty good idea of where I wanted to go. But it was a matter of really diving into it and working on it, revising and revising again, and working on it every day until I had something solid.”

Dream Theater have previously confirmed that they will unveil the album in a live setting during their 2016 European tour. Dates kick off in February with two shows in London at the Palladium theatre on the 18th and 19th.

You can listen to “The Gift Of Music” via the stream below.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Dream Theater reveal cover art and track list for new album ‘The Astonishing’

Dream Theater 2015

Dream Theater have revealed the cover art and track list for their new album.

The Astonishing is due for release early next year.

Say the band in a statement: “This album cover extends an ominous invitation into the retro-futurist dystopian setting of ‘The Astonishing.’

“The deceptively beautiful yet chillingly totalitarian image is a bold harbinger of the visual components and ideas presented by the sonic story that is our most ambitious creative work to date.”

The artwork depicts spherical devices Dream Theater refer to as NOMACs, while three of The Astonishing’s characters – Gabriel, Emperor Nafaryus and Arhys – have been named via the band’s website.

The album is set to feature 34 tracks in total, with a full list of titles below. Dream Theater have confirmed that they plan to premiere the album in full whilst on the road as part of their European tour beginning in February 2016.

01. “Descent of the NOMACS”
02. “Dystopian Overture”
03. “The Gift of Music”
04. “The Answer”
05. “A Better Life”
06. “Lord Nafaryus”
07. “A Savior in the Square”
08. “When Your Time Has Come”
09. “Act of Faythe”
10. “Three Days”
11. “The Hovering Sojourn”
12. “Brother, Can You Hear Me?”
13. “A Life Left Behind”
14. “Ravenskill”
15. “Chosen”
16. “A Tempting Offer”
17. “Digital Discord”
18. “The X Aspect”
19. “A New Beginning”
20. “The Road to Revolution”

01. “2285 Entr’acte”
02. “Moment of Betrayal”
03. “Heaven’s Cove”
04. “Begin Again”
05. “The Path That Divides”
06. “Machine Chatter”
07. “The Walking Shadow”
08. “My Last Farewell”
09. “Losing Faythe”
10. “Whispers on the Wind”
11. “Hymn of a Thousand Voices”
12. “Our New World”
13. “Power Down”
14. “Astonishing”

Dream Theater - The Astonishing cover

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song