New music releases, 12th May 2014

Here are this week’s new and notable music releases for week commencing 12th May 2014:

Matt Woods - Brushy Full Size
With Love From Brushy Mountain, Matt Woods

Heavy Reverie, Buffalo Killers
Turn Blue, The Black Keys
Xscape, Michael Jackson
Unrepentant Geraldines, Tori Amos
Splinters, Vallenfyre
First Mind, Nick Mulvey
Down IV Part 2, Down
Glorious, Foxes
Live At The Royal Albert Hall (Box Set), Suede
Nabuma Rubberband, Little Dragon
The Complete Studio Recordings, The Beat
Live In London: Hammersmith Apollo 1993, Dio
Blue Smoke, Dolly Parton
Stuff, Eleanor McEvoy
Cool Planet, Guided By Voices

Many of the above releases are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Lana Del Rey unleashes Ultraviolence

Lana Del Rey UltraviolenceLana Del Rey has revealed further details of her forthcoming sophomore album, Ultraviolence, including the cover art, shown here.

A release date is yet to be confirmed for the LP, but it is known that it has been produced by The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach and has been co-written with Rick Nowels.

The next single from the album, ‘West Coast’, is scheduled for release on the 18th of May.

Auerbach recently admitted that he and Del Rey had “bumped heads” during the recording, but said that the work was still completed in around two weeks.

“She’s the real deal. She impressed me every day”, he said. “There were moments when she was fighting me. I could sense that maybe she didn’t want to have anybody think she wasn’t in control because I’m sure it’s really hard to be a woman in the music business. So we bumped heads a little bit, but at the end of the day we were dancing to the songs.”

Both Lana Del Rey and The Black Keys are set to appear at this year’s Glastonbury Festival, and Del Rey will be playing a series of US tour dates in May and June.

The full track listing for Ultraviolence is as follows:

‘Cruel World’
‘Shades Of Cool’
‘Brooklyn Baby’
‘West Coast’
‘Sad Girl’
‘Pretty When You Cry’
‘Money Power Glory’
‘Fucked My Way Up To The Top’
‘Old Money’
‘The Other Woman’
‘Black Beauty’ (Bonus track)
‘Guns And Roses’ (Bonus track)
‘Florida Kilos’ (Bonus track)

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Robert Plant, Pixies and Jack White for Glastonbury 2014

Robert Plant Glastonbury 2014
Robert Plant, Pixies, Jack White, Wilko Johnson and The Black Keys are amongst a list of 87 artists who have been confirmed for this year’s Glastonbury festival.

The event takes place between 27th and 29th June, with Arcade Fire confirmed as Friday night headliners, and Kasabian newly announced as Sunday night headliners.

Glastonbury 2014 is officially sold out, but a resale of tickets that have been cancelled or refunded will take place at the end of April. Ticket and coach packages will be up for grabs on 24th April from 7pm, and general admission tickets go on sale on 27th April at 9am. General admission tickets will cost £210 plus a £5 booking fee. In order to buy a resale ticket, prospective festival-goers must have registered with a photo at the Glastonbury See Tickets website by 5pm on 21st April.

The full list of artists that have been confirmed so far is:

Arcade Fire, Special Guests, Kasabian, Dolly Parton, Jack White, Elbow, The Black Keys, Robert Plant, Lily Allen, Lana Del Rey, Skrillex, Pixies, Massive Attack, Disclosure, Paolo Nutini, Manic Street Preachers, MIA, Rudimental, Bryan Ferry, Richie Hawtin, Ed Sheeran, De La Soul, Goldfrapp, London Grammar, MGMT, Jake Bugg, Jurassic 5, Dexys, Above & Beyond, The 1975, Bonobo, Kelis, Blondie, Warpaint, The Wailers, Wilko Johnson, James Blake, Gorgon City, Metronomy, Tinariwen, Chvrches, Little Dragon, Seun Kuti & Egypt 80, Kodaline, Interpol, Foster the People, Mogwai, Royal Blood, John Grant, Annie Mac, Lil Louis, Daptone Super Soul Revue, John Newman, Chromeo, Rodrigo Y Gabriela, Midlake, Angel Haze, Four Tet, ESG, The Sun Ra Arkestra, François Kevorkian, Parquet Courts, Sam Smith, Crystal Fighters, Nitin Sawhney, DJ Pierre, Toumani & Sidiki Diabate, Chance the Rapper, MNEK, Temples, Phosphorescent, Connan Mockasin, Public Service Broadcasting, Courtney Barnett, Gorgon City, Wolf Alice, Radiophonic Workshop, Suzanne Vega, Tune-Yards, Eats Everything, Jamie xx, Ms Dynamite, Breach, Chlöe Howl, Jagwar Ma and Danny Brown.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Kings of Leon debut new material at Hyde Park gig

Kings of Leon debuted four brand new songs at their sell-out gig at Hyde Park last night (30th June.)

Playing to a capacity crowd of 60,000 people, the new songs had working titles including Immortals, Southbound and Radioactive.

Caleb Followill, frontman for the band, said: “”Since we saw you guys last we went and made a record. That’s what we put a lot of work into. Just yesterday some people at the record label got to hear a couple of songs from it. I don’t know if they want us to play a bunch of new songs but I think, ‘Fuck it’ – we’re gonna do it!”

Support came from 2010’s hottest new band The Drums and The Black Keys who drew their own sizeable audiences.