New music releases, 1st June 2015

Here are the new and notable releases for this week, 1st June 2015:

Paradise Lost - The Plague Within cover
The Plague Within, Paradise Lost

Last Of Our Kind, The Darkness
In Colour, Jamie XX
Django and Jimmie, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard
Universal Themes, Sun Kil Moon
My God-Given Right, Helloween
All Your Favourite Bands, Dawes
Revolucion, The Dead Daisies
Baby Metal, Baby Metal
Black Age Blues, Goatsnake
The Thief and The Fallen, Jedi Mind Tricks
The Way It Feels, Heather Nova
Grievances, Rolo Tomassi
Betty’s Blends Vol. Two, Chris Robinson Brotherhood
Luna Park Ride, Tarja
Kuts, Matt Skiba and The Sekrets
Starfire, Jaga Jazzist
Year Of The Flood, Runrig
In Cold Blood (Deluxe Edition), Johnny Thunders

All of the above and many more are available now from the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Darkness confirm 2015 UK tour

The Darkness - Press session 2015

The Darkness have confirmed that they will tour the UK at the end of the year.

The news comes hot on the heels of the band recruiting Rufus Taylor (son of Queen’s Roger Taylor) as their new drummer. The move came after the sudden departure of Emily Dolan-Davies who had only been on the drum stool for a few weeks.

The Darkness frontman Justin Hawkins recently told My Planet Rocks of Taylor’s appointment: “He’s a friend of a friend – my friend being Brian May’s guitar tech who suggested him to us some time ago – just after Emily got the gig. So when Emily left, that was the first person I thought of.

“I sent him the tracks and he got behind a drum kit in Australia for an hour and then he’s on the journey. He didn’t sleep for two days. He had the songs on and was tapping away. I really feel sorry for whoever was sitting in front of him. It must have been a nightmare.

“He came straight from the airport, we ran through the songs a couple of times and then did the show. It’s unbelievable what he actually managed to achieve.”

The band’s new album, Last Of Our Kind, is scheduled for release on the 1st of June. The newly confirmed Blast Of Our Kind tour dates are as follows:

Nov 30th: Norwich Open
Dec 01st: Cambridge Corn Exchange
Dec 02nd: Nottingham Rock City
Dec 04th: Newcastle O2 Academy
Dec 05th: Glasgow O2 Academy
Dec 09th: Leeds O2 Academy
Dec 10th: Manchester Academy
Dec 11th: Birmingham O2 Academy
Dec 13th: Bristol O2 Academy
Dec 14th: Southampton O2 Guildhall
Dec 15th: Bexhill De La Warr Pavillion
Dec 17th: Bournemouth O2 Academy
Dec 19th: Oxford O2 Academy
Dec 20th: London Roundhouse

Tickets go on sale this Friday the 15th of May with prices starting at £25.00.

Check out the official video for new track “Open Fire” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Darkness detail new album and release video for “Barbarian”

The Darkness 2015

The Darkness have revealed details of their forthcoming new album and shared a new video.

Last Of Our Kind will be released on the 1st of June and is available to pre-order now via Pledge Music. It will be the band’s first new release since 2012’s Hot Cakes.

Says frontman Justin Hawkins of the new LP: “Last of Our Kind is a collection of 10 magnificent songs that The Darkness are extremely proud of. It is the best rock album you will hear this year. It is the best rock album you will hear until next time The Darkness makes an album. I should know. I’m the singer.”

Those placing pre-orders can get an instant download of new song “Barbarian” and the band have shared a video for the track that you can watch below:

The full track listing for Last Of Our Kind is:

The Darkness - Last Of Our Kind cover01. “Barbarian”
02. “Open Fire”
03. “Last Of Our Kind”
04. “Roaring Waters”
05. “Wheels Of The Machine”
06. “Mighty Wings”
07. “Mudslide”
08. “Sarah O’Sarah”
09. “Hammer & Tongs”
10. “Conquerors”

The Darkness will be touring Ireland in March with new dates to be confirmed in the coming days.

Mar 06: Dundalk, The Spirit Store
Mar 07: Derry, The Nerve Centre
Mar 08: Dublin, Whelan’s
Mar 10: Dublin, Dcu
Mar 11: Maynooth, Nuim
Mar 12: Galway, Monroe’s
Mar 14: Limerick, Dolan’s Warehouse
Mar 15: Tullamore, The Bridge House
Mar 17: Cork, Cyprus Avenue
Mar 18: Clonmel, O’keefe’s
Mar 19: Newbridge, Judge Roy Bean’s

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song