New music releases, 11th May 2015

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 11th May 2015:

Fragments EP, Of Allies

Can’t Forget: A Souvenir Of The Grand Tour, Leonard Cohen
Forever Man, Eric Clapton
Sub-Lingual Tablet, The Fall
Ghosts and Graffiti, Thea Gilmore
Technicians Of The Sacred, Ozric Tentacles
Escape From The Shadow Garden-Live 2014, Magnum
The Seventh Life Path, Sirenia
ARK, We Are The Ocean
Dumb Flesh, Blanck Mass
Loyalty, The Weather Station
Circle Of Knives, Serpentine
Walk on Jindals Splinters, Jello Biafra And The New Orleans Raunch And Soul All-Stars
1000 Palms, Surfer Blood
Tenderness, J.D. Souther
Live In Brighton 2014, Heather Peace

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Rise To Remain are no more; As Lions emerge from the ashes

As Rise To Remain split, new band – As Lions – emerge from the ashes

Rise To Remain have announced that they have split.

Frontman Austin Dickinson revealed the news via the band’s Facebook page, writing:

“Its [sic] with a mixture of sadness and excitement that we reveal to everybody that Rise To Remain is no more. We travelled the world with this band, and, because of the people who supported us, managed to achieve so many things we never thought possible.

“Living the dream, in many cases, is not enough to hold it all together when the band is not stable, and after putting together the second record, Adam told us he was in a place where he felt the pressure of the album and the upcoming cycle and couldn’t continue, leading Ben to quit music altogether. To continue the band at this point, with as many line up changes as its had, with the two original members being Will and myself, seems pointless.”

Dickinson continues: “I wouldn’t say that this news is necessarily unexpected, as its been quiet on here for some time. We don’t feel any blame or animosity.”

But all is not lost for fans of the musicians. As Dickinson explains, a new band is now working on material.

“AS LIONS is the new band that Will, Conor and I have been working on since early last year. We wanted to take our time with it and build the material to the point where we knew we could burn the place to the ground. This is that time.

“There is no other way to kick this off, than with an anthem, a straight up belter, one that you can sing and move to.”

That song is “The Fall”, and you can listen to it via the stream below:

“Touring and shows will be announced shortly, but for now, we would rather let the song speak for itself, and find out what your reactions are,” Dickinson concludes.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 13th October 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 13th October 2014:

Exodus BIBO Cover
Blood In Blood Out, Exodus

World On Fire, Slash feat. Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators
One Step Beyond (35th Anniversary Edition), Madness
The Complete Albums Collection (Vinyl Box Set), Iron Maiden
Memoirs Of A Madman, Ozzy Osbourne
Backspace Unwind, Lamb
Tyranny, Julian Casablancas & The Voidz
Creative Distortion, The Fall
Chasing Rainbows, Dio
Walking On A Flashlight, Lunatic Soul
Lite Roast, Sammy Hagar and Vic Johnson
Congregation, Kerbdog
Galactic Hunt, Evil Scarecrow
Mass & Volume, Pig Destroyer
Deathless, Revocation
Brains Of Britain, Ste McCabe

You can buy all of the above albums (and many more!) at the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Gorillaz to release ‘The Fall’ physically in April

Gorillaz have confirmed that their album The Fall is to be released on vinyl, CD and chargeable download in April.

The album was recorded using Damon Albarn’s iPad whilst the band were on tour in America last year and was released as a free download for fan club members last December. It was produced by Stephen Sedgwick.

A 180gm vinyl pressing will be released to coincide with Record Store Day on the 16th April. The CD and chargeable download editions will follow on the 18th April.

Speaking about the recording of the album, Albarn said: “I did it because there’s a lot of time that you just spend staring at walls, essentially. And it was a fantastic way of doing it. I found working in the day, whether it’s in the hotel or in the venue, was a brilliant way of keeping myself well.”

The album tracklisting is:

Phoner To Arizona
Revolving Doors
HillBilly Man
Little Pink Plastic Bags
The Joplin Spider
The Parish Of Space Dust
The Snake In Dallas
The Speak It Mountains
Aspen Forest
Bobby In Phoenix
California And The Slipping Of The Sun
Seattle Yodel