Craig Finn details new solo album ‘We All Want The Same Things’


The Hold Steady frontman Craig Finn has shared details of his new solo album.

We All Want The Same Things is scheduled for release via Partisan Records on the 24th of March.

The collection is available now for pre-order via all leading digital music sites, with all orders placed receiving an instant download of the lead single, “Preludes.”

Says Finn of the new song: “‘Preludes’ is what I remember 1994 being like, coming back to the Twin Cities after being away for college. It’s a time in my life that I felt most adrift, but there was also a feeling of wonder in being out of step and alone.

“This is the song on the album that is closest to being autobiographical, but I think it fits with these other character studies in that I was trying to figure out my place in a world that didn’t seem to have a lot of room for me.”

You can hear “Preludes” via the stream below.

“We named this collection We All Want The Same Things after a line in the song ‘God in Chicago,’” Finn says. “It seems like a bit of dark humor in these turbulent political times, but it also rings true: no matter our differences we all have some very basic wants and needs that line up with each other. The characters in these songs are normal people trying to help themselves, trying to move forward, and in some cases trying just to survive. All the while they are negotiating what space the others in their lives can occupy.”

The track list for We All Want The Same Things is:

craig-finn-we-all-want-the-same-things-cover01. “Jester & June”
02. “Preludes”
03. “Ninety Bucks”
04. “Birds Trapped In The Airport”
05. “God In Chicago”
06. “Rescue Blues”
07. “Tangletown”
08. “It Hits When It Hits”
09. “Tracking Shots”
10. “Be Honest”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

The Playlist: 26th March 2014

Here’s what’s funking up the office stereo here at Skin Back Alley right now!

Click on the album covers below for more information:

Police Bastard - Confined Matt Woods - Dead Mans Blues The Pretty Reckless - Going To Hell Snarky Puppy - Ground Up

The Hold Steady - Teeth Dreams Turbid North - Orogeny Nils Frahm - Spaces Demon Hunter - True Defiance

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Hold Steady confirmed for Great Escape’s Uncut stage


The Hold Steady have been confirmed to play Uncut magazine’s sponsored stage at this year’s Great Escape festival.

The band will join the likes of Trans, Courtney Barnett, Ethan Johns, Alice Boman and Syd Arthur, all of whom have already been announced.

The Great Escape takes place across 35 venues in and around Brighton between the 8th and 10th of May. Last month, Wild Beasts and These New Puritans were confirmed for the event, and a list of a further 100 artists has been revealed today.

Tickets can be purchased via the Great Escape website or in person at Resident Records in Brighton.

The Hold Steady’s new album, Teeth Dreams, was released this week.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 24th March 2014

New and notable releases this week, 24th March 2014:

Teeth Dreams - The Hold Steady
Teeth Dreams, The Hold Steady

Strangers, Simone Felice
Far Beyond Driven (20th Anniversary Edition), Pantera
May Death Never Stop You (The Greatest Hits), My Chemical Romance
Going Back Home, Wilko Johnson and Roger Daltrey
Escape From The Shadow Garden, Magnum
Live In Amsterdam, Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa
The Classics, Tony Bennett
Shakira, Shakira
Supermodel, Foster The People
Miles At The Fillmore, Miles Davis
Gravitas, ASIA
Silver Rails, Jack Bruce
Blue Horizon, Wishbone Ash
Mess, Liars
Mastermind, Rick Ross

All of the above and many more are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Hold Steady to release new album

HoldSteady2014The Hold Steady have announced that they are to release a new album in March.

Titled Teeth Dreams, the album will be released on 25th March via the Washington Square imprint.

Craig Finn, Hold Steady frontman commented: “We’re excited for this new chapter.” Tad Kubler, guitarist, added: “We’re really proud of our new record, this is an exciting time for us. Making the new record has been a journey… and the results exceeded even our own expectations. Can’t wait for people to hear it.”

The band, who will celebrate their 10th anniversary this year, will tour the US this year, kicking off the run of gigs in Memphis on January 29.