Slothrust announce new album, The Pact, and share new single, Peach

Photo: Danny Lane

Brooklyn-based alt-rockers Slothrust have announced a new album.

The Pact will be released on the 14th of September via Dangerbird Records. Recorded with Garbage producer Billy Bush, it is the follow up to the band’s 2016 LP Everyone Else and 2017 covers collection Show Me How You Want It To Be.

The Skin Back Alley end-of-year-list favourites have also shared a new song from the album, “Peach.”

“‘Peach’ started with a riff I wrote on a classical guitar when I was on the East Coast — the intro with that really dissonant note. That riff was constant in my head. The rest of the song just came to me very naturally,” Slothrust’s Leah Wellbaum told Billboard recently.

“‘Peach’ is a song to my inner child, encouraging her to stay free and keep it weird, and to remind her that people who used to make you feel small are ultimately unimportant. It’s also about seeing where your own mind takes you. Playfulness can be found in free association, then figuring out what those connections are afterward.”

You can listen to the hook-laden new track with a huge chorus via the stream below.

The Pact track list is as follows:

01. Double Down
02. Peach
03. Planetarium
04. Walk Away
05. Birthday Cake
06. For Robin
07. The Haunting
08. New Red Pants
09. Fever Doggs
10. On My Mind
11. Some Kind of Cowgirl
12. Travel Bug

The Pact will be released via Dangerbird Records on the 14th of September.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography