Prince will release two new albums in September


Prince has revealed that he is to release not one, but two brand new albums this autumn.

The musician will not only release Plectrumelectrum, his debut album with 3rd Eye Girl next month, but also a separate solo record entitled Art Official Age.

According to the Purple One’s official website, both will be released on the 29th of September.

The official pre-order pages detail the track listing for Plectrumelectrum as follows:

1. “Wow”
2. “Pretzelbodylogic”
3. “Aintturninround”
4. “Plectrumelectrum”
5. “Whitecaps”
6. “Fixurlifeup”
7. “Boytrouble”
8. “Stopthistrain”
9. “Anotherlove”
10. “Tictactoe”
11. “Marz”
12. “Funknroll”

The track listing for the second album, Art Official Age, is as follows:

1. “Art Official Cage”
2. “Clouds”
3. “Breakdown”
4. “The Gold Standard”
5. “U Know”
6. “Breakfast Can Wait”
7. “This Could Be Us”
8. “What It Feels Like”
9. “Affirmation I & II”
10. “Way Back Home”
11. “Funknroll”
12. “Time”
13. “Affirmation III”

The albums see Prince’s return to Warner Bros., the record label he split from acrimoniously in the 1990s after wearing the word “slave” on his face as a protest to his record contract. “When you stop a man from dreaming, he becomes a slave,” he told Rolling Stone in 1996. “That’s where I was. I don’t own Prince’s music. If you don’t own your masters, your master owns you.” Earlier this year, Prince worked out a deal with the label where he now owns the masters to all his recordings with them.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Robert Plant reveals details of new album and UK tour dates

Robert Plant 2014

Robert Plant has confirmed details of his new album.

lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar will be released on the 9th of September via Warner Bros./Nonesuch Records, and has been recorded with The Sensational Space Shifters.

The album features eleven new recordings, nine of which are original songs written by Plant with the band — Justin Adams: bendirs, djembe, guitars, tehardant, background vocals; John Baggott: keyboards, loops, moog bass, piano, tabal, background vocals; Juldeh Camara: kologo, ritti, Fulani vocals; Billy Fuller: bass, drum programming, omnichord, upright bass; Dave Smith: drum set; and Liam “Skin” Tyson: banjo, guitar, background vocals.

“It’s really a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep,” Plant said in a statement. “The whole impetus of my life as a singer has to be driven by a good brotherhood. I am very lucky to work with The Sensational Space Shifters. They come from exciting areas of contemporary music…I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what’s happening to me. Along the trail there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships,” Plant explains, “… and now I’m able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidescope of sound, colour, and friendship.”

You can watch the official trailer for the album below:

The full tracklisting for the album is as follows:

“Little Maggie”
“Pocketful of Golden”
“Embrace Another Fall”
“Turn It Up”
“A Stolen Kiss”
“Somebody There”
“Poor Howard”
“House of Love”
“Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)”
“Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby)”

A series of tour dates have also been announced. Robert Plant & The Sensational Space Shifters will play:

9th of Nov: Newport Centre, Newport
10th of Nov: O2 Academy, Bournemouth
12th of Nov: Roundhouse, London
14th of Nov: City Hall, Hull
15th of Nov: O2 Academy, Glasgow
17th of Nov: O2 Academy, Leeds
18th of Nov: O2 Academy, Newcastle
20th of Nov: Corn Exchange, Cambridge
21st of Nov: Civic Hall, Wolverhampton
23rd of Nov: Ulster Hall, Belfast
24th of Nov: Olympia, Dublin
26th of Nov: Blackpool Tower, Blackpool
27th of Nov: Llandudno Venue Cymru Arena, Llandudno

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song