New music releases, 18th May 2015

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, 18th of May 2015:

Sol Invictus - Faith No More
Sol Invictus, Faith No More

Zero Hour, Triaxis
The Desired Effect, Brandon Flowers
Saturns Pattern, Paul Weller
Blurryface, Twenty One Pilots
The Purple Album, Whitesnake
Why Makes Sense, Hot Chip
Power In The Blood, Buffy Sainte-Marie
At Your Service, The Circle
The Story So Far, The Story So Far
Sprinter, Torres
Stormcrow, Cain’s Offering
Platform, Holly Herndon
Bitches Brew (40th Anniversary Collector’s Edition), Miles Davis
Simple Songs, Jim O’Rourke
Eclipse, Twin Shadow
Open The Mind To Discomfort, Will Haven
Songs From The Road, The Spin Doctors

All of the above – and many more – are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Def Leppard, Whitesnake and Black Star Riders team up for UK tour

Def Leppard, Whitesnake and Black Star Riders have confirmed that they will team up for a UK tour later this year.

The three bands will play 10 arena dates in the UK and Ireland in December.

Tickets for the shows will go on sale on the 1st of April via Live Nation.

Def Leppard are likely to have released their new self-titled album by then, with frontman Joe Elliot saying recently of the new material: “It sounds like Def Leppard, but it sounds like Def Leppard stretching their wings a little bit.”

Whitesnake’s David Coverdale recently confirmed details of their new album. Titled The Purple Album, it features covers of songs that Coverdale performed during his time fronting Deep Purple and is scheduled for release on the 18th of May.

Black Star Riders released their second album, The Killer Instinct, last month, an album that Def Leppard’s Joe Elliot was set to produce but had to pull out of owing to increasing commitments with his own band.

The three bands will play:

Dec 06th: Dublin 3 Arena
Dec 07th: Belfast Odyssey Arena
Dec 09th: Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
Dec 10th: Glasgow SSE Hydro
Dec 12th: Birmingham Genting Arena
Dec 13th: Nottingham Capital FM Arena
Dec 15th: Manchester Arena
Dec 16th: Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Dec 18th: Wembley SSE Arena
Dec 19th: Sheffield Motorpoint Arena

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

80 days to ahhh

Whitesnake reveal new album details and release new video

Whitesnake 2014

Whitesnake frontman David Coverdale has revealed that the band’s new album will be out in May.

Titled The Purple Album, the disc will feature a series of “reimagined” songs from Coverdale’s time fronting Deep Purple.

The new LP is Whitesnake’s follow up to their 2011 album Forevermore, and will be released on the 18th of May in the UK and the 19th in the US. It will also be the band’s first album to feature new guitarist Joel Hoekstra, who replaced Doug Aldrich last year.

Coverdale front Deep Purple from 1973 to 1976 and says of the new album: “It’s a tribute – a homage. It’s a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago.

“I said to Richie Blackmore, ‘You guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn’t have asked for better teachers.’ The university of Deep Purple is an extraordinary, amazing school to learn from. We can’t wait to play these songs in concert.”

To coincide with the news, Whitesnake have released a video for their new version of “Stormbringer”. You can watch it below:

The Purple Album will be available in a standard 13 track edition and a deluxe version featuring bonus tracks and video content.

The tracklist for the album is as follows:

fiŸ¢¢01. “Burn”
02. “You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)”
03. “Love Child”
04. “Sail Away”
05. “The Gypsy”
06. “Lady Double Dealer”
07. “Mistreated”
08. “Holy Man”
09. “Might Just Take Your Life”
10. “You Keep On Moving”
11. “Soldier Of Fortune”
12. “Lay Down Stay Down”
13. “Stormbringer”

Deluxe edition bonus content:

01. “Lady Luck”
02. “Comin’ Home”
Video: “Lady Double Dealer”
Video: “Sail Away”
Video: “Stormbringer”
Video: “Soldier Of Fortune”
Video: “Behind The Scenes”
Video: “EPK”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 10th November 2014

A big week for new music releases this week, 10th November 2014:

Machine Head Bloodstone and Diamonds
Bloodstone & Diamonds, Machine Head

Sonic Highways, Foo Fighters
The Endless River, Pink Floyd
Forever, Queen
Antemasque, Antemasque
White Noise, PVRIS
Cobra Verde, Hideous Divinity
The Seeds Within, Resistance
Back To The Bone: Live 1984, Whitesnake
Reckless (Deluxe Edition), Bryan Adams
Do What Comes Naturally, Handsome Jack
Milking The Stars: A Re-imagining of Last Patrol, Monster Magnet
Kill My Only Enemy, Disdained
Falling Home, Pain Of Salvation
Live In Memphis, Big Star
Sun Eater, Job For A Cowboy
Citadel, Ne Obliviscaris
Guiding Lights, Skyharbor
The Heart Of The Matter, Triosphere
Damn Yankees (Remastered), Damn Yankees
Crazy Lixx, Crazy Lixx
Iv – One With The Storm, Ghost Brigade
Retribution, Nightingale
Nachash, Krokodil
Candlelight Years (Box Set), Insomnium
Sinner (Deluxe Edition), Drowning Pool
Hits, Billy Talent
The Last Great Hope, Electric Mary

All of the above and many more are available through the Skin Back Alley Music Store powered by Amazon.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Brian Tichy set to play on Chris Caffrey solo LP

Photo (C) Natal Drums

Brian Tichy, former drummer with Whitesnake, is set to appear on guitarist Chris Caffrey’s forthcoming solo album.

Tichy left Whitesnake last year, citing that he wanted to spend more time on his new project with singer Sass Jordan, Something Unto Nothing.

Says Caffrey of the announcement: “Brian is currently sending me drum tracks for five songs that I will release on my next solo record in 2015. I won’t be able to finish until after the Trans-Siberian Orchestra tour is finished, but I’m hoping to do some tracking on the days off. Lots of great musicians will be around me too, so perhaps I will steal some of them for appearances on these tunes!”

The new album will be Caffrey’s fifth solo effort. “I still haven’t decided exactly what I want to call the record. I had ideas, but I keep changing my mind as the newer songs develop! The album will most likely have 12 songs and I am considering an instrumental or two as well,” he adds.

Meanwhile, in addition to his work with Caffrey, Tichy has also confirmed that he is a member of Sweet Lynch alongside Michael Sweet of Stryper, George Lynch of Lynch Mob and James Lomenzo, formerly of Megadeth. Lomenzo was also a bandmate of Tichy’s when the two played together as part of Pride & Glory with guitarist and frontman Zakk Wylde in the mid 90s.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song