Punk collective forms to release new compilation ‘UNINTIMIDATED: Wisconsin Musicians Against Scott Walker’

UNINTIMIDATED Wisconsin Musicians Against Scott Walker cover CROP

The coalition of punk, noise, metal and indie musicians known as UNINTIMIDATED: Musicians Against Scott Walker have confirmed the 8th of April as the official release date of their self-titled CD/DVD compilation in protest of the Wisconsin Governor.

Consisting of 16 tracks, the compilation is being released in order to raise funds for local soup kitchens and Planned Parenthood. While the album will be released on digital formats, all physical copies will come with a special DVD of live performances of the tracks, along with an old-school zine.

Led by DJ Hostettler (of IfIHadAHiFi) and Anthony Webber (of Heavy Hand), the bands have gathered together to release the collection in order to raise funds for issues that Governor Walker reportedly detests.

Says Hostettler of the release: “We’ve worked on this project for about a year now, hatching our scheme in February 2015 and moving from gauging interest in the bands, to securing a studio, to convincing an absolute murderer’s row of musicians, engineers, cameramen, editors, and gruntworkers to donate their time to a project that, in today’s political environment in Wisconsin, runs the rest of being little more than a cathartic scream into the wilderness. But hopefully it’ll be more than that.

“If this collection of songs can raise money for some solid causes that help those whom Scott Walker refuses to help, then this is a success. If this collection of songs provides a soundtrack for a political revolution in Wisconsin that leads to motivated progressives taking back our state from the tyranny of the rich and power-mad, then holy shit, that’s amazing. But at the very least, we will have provided a document of artistic work that will hopefully stand for generations and show Wisconsin, the country, and the world, that no, not everyone in Wisconsin was satisfied to sit and let Scott Walker and his corporate overlords ruin our state.”

You can pre-order the standard album or CD/DVD/Zine editions of UNINTIMIDATED: Wisconsin Musicians Against Scott Walker now via Bandcamp.

You can preview Left Mitten’s take on “Venus In Furs” from the compilation, along with the cover art and track list, below:

01. “285 Feet Tall” – Haunted Heads
02. “Too Tired to Riot” – FowlMouth
03. “Right to Work” – Body Futures
04. “Starving” – Drillers
05. “Wrong” – Volunteer
06. “Open for Strabismus” – Soup Moat
07. “A Bad Man” – Lady Cannon
08. “How About ‘No,’ Scott?” – Holy Shit!
09. “White Power Norah Jones” – Heavy Hand
10. “What’s Wrong With the Right (2 Work It?)” – Midwest Death Rattle
11. “Bring Back the Guillotines” – IfIHadAHiFi
12. “Three Point Program to Destroy Wisconsin” – Tyranny is Tyranny
13. “Walk(er) Against Us” – Donoma
14. “Left Mitten” – Venus in Furs
15. “Scott Walker, You’re a Piece of Shit” – Damsel Trash
16. “Bad Wolf” – Testa Rosa

UNINTIMIDATED Wisconsin Musicians Against Scott Walker cover

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Rob Zombie expresses sorrow over shortened show

Rob Zombie 640x360

Rob Zombie has released a statement apologising for his shortened set at Wisconsin’s Rock Fest last weekend.

Fans reacted angrily across the web after Zombie stopped his show and walked off after just two songs saying: “There’s no way I can do this. I’m sorry. It’s fucking bullshit, I know, but that’s what happens. What can we do? It’s my fault.”

In a more complete explanation, Zombie said via his new statement: “I’m very sorry to everyone who was at Rock Fest. Believe it or not, this is the first time in 29 years I have not been able to finish a show.”

“I understand people are pissed – but what can you do? It’s easy to say, ‘Man up and just do it,’ but when no sound is coming out there’s nothing you can do. If you’ve ever lost your voice you know it doesn’t magically return just because you want it to.”

“If there was a way to do the show I’d have done it, as I have many times before. I’ve done shows where I walked to the side of the stage between songs to vomit, I was so sick.”

The musician is adamant that he’s not looking for sympathy, but rather: “”As far as everyone yelling, ‘I’ve been a fan for 20 years and now I fucking hate you, you pussy rock star!’ What can I say? Shitty stuff happens sometimes. I tried explaining before I left the stage, but I could barely croak out a word.”

“We’re trying to figure out a time and place to make it up to everybody,” he continued. “I don’t take the fans for granted and I don’t take this situation lightly. My goal is to never let the fans down – but on that night I did. Unfortunately, I had no choice.”

Watch this space for future updates.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song