Yes reveal details of new live album


Premier prog-rockers Yes have revealed details of their forthcoming live LP.

Like It Is – Yes At The Bristol Hippodrome will be released on the 5th of December in 2CD/DVD, Blu-ray and digital formats. The concert was recorded this year on the band’s world tour. Yes’ two classic albums, The Yes Album and Going For The One, were performed in their entirety using the original arrangements.

Says guitarist Steve Howe: “Playing complete albums is a great way to hear the development of Yes music and relive the familiar transitions from one track to another.”

The full tracklist for Like It Is is as follows:

'Like_It_Is_-_Yes_at_the_Bristol_Hippdrome'_Album_cover01. “Going For The One”
02. “Turn Of The Century”
03. “Parallels”
04. “Wonderous Stories”
05. “Awaken”
06. “Yours Is No Disgrace”
07. “Clap”
08. “Starship Trooper”
09. “I’ve Seen All Good People”
10. “A Venture”
11. “Perpetual Change”

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Jon Davison: enjoy the “lighter side” of Yes

Yes Perform At Humphrey's Concerts By The Bay
Photo (C) Daniel Knighton/Getty Images

Yes frontman Jon Davison has been speaking out following criticism from some quarters of the band’s new album, Heaven & Earth.

Speaking in interview with the Las Vegas Review-Journal, Davison said: “You have to go where the creativity takes you. At this stage in the game, they want to ease back into some almost relaxing music. I don’t mean to sound like everyone’s dull by any means because that’s not it at all. The music’s probably been interpreted that way.”

“It’s just a phase in their lives where it’s kind of an easy-listening record. It just kind of warms over you if you let it. It’s a lighter shade of Yes.”

He continues: “If people put expectation aside, I think eventually over time more people will ease into it – a lot of people already are.”

Davison took over vocal duties from previous incumbent Benoit David in 2012, touring with Yes before heading in to the studio to record Heaven & Earth.

Yes are currently incorporating the whole of their classic albums, Fragile and Close To The Edge, in to their live shows across the USA. However, Davison has said that he feels no pressure to include the classics in their sets:

“You’re never going to measure up to that and we don’t necessarily want to because it would be forced if we tried,” he said.

You can preview Heaven & Earth below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Listen! Electric Wurms release new song, “The Bat”

Electric Wurms Band Shot 640x360

Electric Wurms, the side project of Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne and Steve Drodz, have released a new song.

“The Bat” is set to feature on the Wurms’ debut album, Musik, Die Schwer Zu Twerk, slated for release on the 18th of August via Bella Union.

The band comprises Coyne and Drozd, along with Charlee Cook, Chance Cook, Will Hicks and Dom Marcoaldi of Linear Downfall. Revealing the lineup back in June, Electric Wurms said: “It all began in the 70s when someone invented the right kind of acid that could make you fly. Overly-optimistic freaks began flying into outer space in spaceships made of futuristic super-metal – but before long they didn’t even need ships. They became the ships, and called themselves Electric Wurms.”

“Before they died they sent back to Earth a sonic bible of discoveries and failures. Two groups of determined musicians and weirdo thinkers set forth to decipher its message.”

You can hear “The Bat” below:

The tracklist for Musik, Die Schwer Zu Twerk is:

01. “Heart Of The Sunrise”
02. “I Could Only See Clouds”
03. “Futuristic Hallucination”
04. “The Bat”
05. “Living”

The band have previously shared the album’s opening track, a cover of Yes’ “Heart Of The Sunrise”, and you can listen to it below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 21st July 2014

Here are the new and notable releases for this week, 21st July 2014

Fallujah The Flesh Prevails Cover
The Flesh Prevails, Fallujah

Heaven and Earth, Yes
An Aetheist Monument, Reaper
The Unravelling (Special Edition), Kinfeworld
Till Death, La Familia, Ill Nino
Her Golden Blood EP, The Males
Killer, Crystal Eyes
Acoustic Classics, Richard Thompson
From Scotland With Love, King Creosote
Ion Vein, Ion Vein
Mandatory Fun, Weird Al Yankovic
Trouble In Paradise, La Roux
Unchained, Burden Of Grief
Elysium, Bear’s Den
Terms Of My Surrender, John Hiatt
Do You Wanna Start A War, Fozzy
Live To Air, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Evolution, Head P.E.
White Devil Armory, Overkill
Resurrected From The Grave, Entrails
Omnipresent, Origin
Elddop, Martyrdod
The Seasons Of Love, Gramercy Arms
Phenomena, Within The Ruins
Life & Death, Confession

All of the above and many more are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Yes reveal details of new album Heaven & Earth

Heaven_and_Earth_Yes_DeanLegendary prog-rockers Yes have revealed the cover art and track listing for new studio album, Heaven & Earth.

In a statement about the forthcoming LP, the eight-track record is described as a continuation of their classic prog sound, but also featuring a “timelessly fresh and innovative” edge.

The album sleeve has been designed once again by long time collaborator Roger Dean, and it will be the first album recorded with vocalist Jon Davison.

Davison last month admitted recording sessions had been completed “just in time,” but said there was enough overflow material that could be used in a later release.

He said: “We were doubling up in the studio. Chris Squire and I were working on background vocals and Steve Howe was finishing guitars. Geoff Downes was in Wales, Alan White was in Seattle and they were both sending tracks.

“We were just kind of throwing everything in at the last minute, then we only had two or three days before we had to start this tour.”

Heaven & Earth is due for release on the 7th of July and the full track listing is as follows:

‘Believe Again’
‘The Game’
‘Step Beyond’
‘To Ascend’
‘In A World Of Our Own’
‘Light Of The Ages’
‘It Was All We Knew’
‘Subway Walls’

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song