Premiere: Chris Milam streams brand new single ‘Kids These Days’ ahead of release


To say that Chris Milam had a bad year is perhaps something of an understatement.

A broken engagement and a stolen car left the Memphis singer and songwriter with nothing but a bag of clothes and a lot of questions; questions he sought to answer by going in to the studio with twelve new songs and producer Toby Vest.

Saving for recording sessions over the course of a year of couch-surfing, pet sitting and troubadouring, Milam has now taken those questions born of adversity and crafted a world class set of songs for his resulting new album, Kids These Days.

This Friday, March the 3rd, sees the release of the title track as the album’s first single; a song we’re excited to bring you via the exclusive premiere below. The track exemplifies a collection of songs of nuanced emotional intensity, both in terms of their lyrical preoccupations and their compelling musical arrangements.

Beginning with just guitar and Milam’s plaintive, aching vocal, “Kids These Days” soon builds to a cathartic roar, replete with gripping and propulsive instrumentation. As Milam himself says of the track, “Kids These Days” aren’t kids anymore:

“I’ve read about my generation growing up for a long time. But we’re here — we’re in our twenties and thirties. And I know a lot of folks who, despite hard work and good intentions, aren’t where they thought they’d be. Maybe they’re even starting over. I hope that, by telling my story, other people see theirs in it.”

Turn up the volume and check out “Kids These Days” via the stream below.

“Kids These Days” is released as a single this coming Friday, the 3rd of March.

Chris’ new album of the same name is scheduled for release on the 7th of April via Namesake Records. The full track list is below.

chris-milam-kids-these-days-album-cover-web01. “Kids These Days”
02. “Half Life”
03. “Autumn”
04. “Tell Me Something I Don’t Know”
05. “Coldweather Girls”
06. “Prayer #4”
07. “New Drug”
08. “Hey, Hollwyood”
09. “When I Was Young”
10. “All of Our Ghosts”
11. “The Sun Isn’t Up”
12. “At The End of the Day”

Connect with Chris Milam via:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song | Live From Los Angeles – Tairrie B. Photography

2 thoughts on “Premiere: Chris Milam streams brand new single ‘Kids These Days’ ahead of release

  1. The song is beautiful and dramatic, filled with images and a melody that stick with you all day.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.