Arch Enemy release video for Stolen Life

Arch Enemy 2015

Arch Enemy have released a video for their track “Stolen Life.”

Originally premiered via Metal Hammer, the song is lifted from the band’s most recent album, War Eternal, released last year.

The clip was filmed in Santiago, Chile and wasn’t without incident. As guitarist Jeff Loomis comments: “We didn’t get much sleep due to a cancelled flight, and we also played a show the same day, but still pulled it off with great success.”

Check out the video for “Stolen Life” below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Metal stars set to soundtrack new videogame

Simone Simons Promo Shot
Epica’s Simone Simons

The worlds of metal and gaming are to join forces once again with the forthcoming release of the platform adventure game, Karmaflow: The Rock Opera Videogame.

Arch Enemy’s vocalist Alissa White-Gluz, Cradle of Filth’s Dani Filth, Simone Simons of Epica and Marc Hudson of Dragonforce are all set to lend their musical and vocal talents to the game that sees the story being told through the use of rock and metal music.

The orchestral score is performed by the Metropole Orkest – purportedly the world’s largest pop and jazz orchestra. Members of Textures and Within Temptation are also involved in the game, which sees the style of music alter and change depending on the gamer’s style of play.

An album version of the game’s score will be released in October this year, with the game itself due to follow for PC and Mac in early 2015.

The game has been developed by students at the Utrecht University Of Arts in the Netherlands, and you can watch the trailer for it below:

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

The Playlist, 13th June 2014

Here’s a selection of the music currently terrorising the turntables here at Skin Back Alley. Just click on the album covers to find out more…

Reptilian Death - DofCandE   Nikki Lane AorN

Arch Enemy Death Angel HellYeah BforB Nine Inch Nails

Of course, if you have any music that you’re dying to tell us about, just let us know via our contact page!

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

New music releases, 9th June 2014

Here are the new and notable music releases for this week, the 9th June 2014:

Arch Enemy War Eternal
War Eternal, Arch Enemy

Blood For Blood, HellYeah
Lazaretto, Jack White
48:13, Kasabian
Whispers, Passenger
Re-Introduction Etudes, Chilly Gonzales
Blue Smoke, Dolly Parton
Stay Gold, First Aid Kit
Great Western Valkyrie, Rival Sons
Distant Satellites, Anathema
Stockholm, Chrissie Hynde
Quadrophenia: Live In London, The Who
The Blues Came Callin’, Walter Trout
Beauty & Ruin, Bob Mould
Outsider, Uriah Heep
Simplicity, Tesla
Favorite Waitress, The Felice Brothers
Imprint, Denise Pearson
Hollywood Bowl 1972, Allman Brothers Band
Trouble & Love, Mary Gaulthier
The Thin Line, Heather Peace
Out Among The Stars: Special Edition, Johnny Cash
Touch & Flee, Neil Cowley Trio
Zaba, Glass Animals
Let The Ocean Take Me, The Amity Affliction
Earth Rocker (Box Set), Clutch
Disgusting, Beartooth
Esoteric Warfare, Mayhem
Gigantoid, Fu Manchu
Saturday Night Special, Great White
Hail The Apocalypse, Avatar
Upside Down Mountain, Conor Oberst
Blissfucker, Trap Them

All of the above and many more are available via the Skin Back Alley Music Store!

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song

Christopher Amott’s ARMAGEDDON release album teaser

Armageddon 2014 Line Up

Former Arch Enemy guitarist Christopher Amott’s new band, Armageddon, have released a teaser trailer for their new album.

In a statement the band said: “We present for you a teaser showcasing the intro of a forthcoming song named ‘Fugitive Dust’ and showing the band in action in the studio and rehearsal. We have a new full track coming in the next few days, so get ready to bang your headz and digest some of the tasty fresh guitarmageddon licks we cooked up for you.

Fun Fact: This video shows Nick Bunczk on drums, amazing Philadelphia area drummer and friend who recorded all of the drum tracks on this album. Search him up on YouTube, you won’t be disappointed! Márton Veress is a recent addition to the lineup and we will be showcasing his drum skillz live!”

Armageddon say the album “consists of 10 awe-inspiring and ingeniously-crafted songs, full of devastating riffs, soaring guitar leads and fist-pumping choruses.”

They add that fans can expect “heavy, melodic, technical, groovy, creative metal songwriting – with one foot in deep in the classics and and one eye gazing towards the distant future.”

You can watch the trailer below.

You can watch the official lyric video for the title track of the new album, Captivity and Devourment, below.

Album Reviews | Live Reviews | News | SBA Lists | The Playlist | Under The Skin | Without A Song